Soybean Succotash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
This was great. I wanted to experiment with edamame and found this recipe. Did reduce the oil to 1 tsp and added minced garlic. Otherwise made it as given. We really liked it. Great crunch and the natural veggie sweetness came through. I would have never thought to use seasoned salt. Good choice. Thanks, Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
Steaming Edamame, lima beans and corn save lots of calories. You can make yummy succotash by steaming these veggies together and then just adding some Butterbuds, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
edamame is great and I eat them as a snake..during mid-afternoon instead of cookies. Great pick-me-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This was awesome! I took a lot of liberties...eliminated the oil, added kidney beans, a bunch of different spices. It was great all around. You could make this a bunch of different ways, and never get bored.Great idea to substitute the edamame for the lima bean. I never did like lima beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
A lovely simple side-dish. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nyabing, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This isn't bad. You have to like edamame to really appreciate this dish. It's got a very strong flavor. But it's a nice alternative. I might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Fantastic! Made this dish but added thinly sliced and fried and then crumbled pancetta... totally delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I had never tried soybeans before and was looking for something different. I tried another soybean recipe on here as well, and didn't like it either. I would have liked it better with lima beans....and I eat lots of healthy things other people won't touch....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Love this! I like lima beans, but love edamame, so I'd take this recipe over traditional succotash any day. Only thing I do differently is add some dried thyme, but you could season it any way you like. I may have added a clove of garlic from time to time, too! Frozen corn works well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This is really good. It makes alot, I think next time I will cut it in half b/c we had alot leftover. I made exactly as written using tastefully simple seasoned salt to spice it up. I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Succotash

See how to make sensational, suffer-free succotash.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States