Soy Sauce Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Rochelle
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This would be a great option if I could not eat soy sauce(Thankfully I do not have any food allergies). I did not have enough soy sauce for my recipe this worked great for what I needed. This is a great base for marinades. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was the closest I could get to regular soy sauce (my wife is allergic to soy, so this was a god-send). I eliminated the bouillon and water, used home made chicken stock instead, and added salt to compensate. Next time I make it, though, I'll probably let it reduce down more to concentrate the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sprtsracer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Daytona Beach Shores, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I was a little skeptical but once I made it I LOVED it!!!! So pleased to finally find a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I substituted brown sugar for the molasses and beef stock for the beef bullion because I didn't have either on hand. I used about a 1/4 cup of water. Brought all ingredients to a gentle boil. It was a nice simple sauce to accompany stir fry veggies and mahi mahi. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
So many great reviews, but this did not work for us at all. It tastes nothing like soy sauce. If you need a large amount of soy sauce for a marinade or something like that (where you won't taste the final product), this may work very well for you. (That's what I ended up doing with the half-batch that I made, exactly as recipe instructed.) If you're intending to fill an empty bottle and use this as a condiment, you will be disappointed. We will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I was making stir fry and realized I did NOT have ANY soy sauce. Since my mouth was already set on it....I decided to see if there was a recipe and WALA! :) So happy that I found this recipe, I did make some modifications to it though. I used 1.5 Tbsp of beef bouillon concentrate and then to conquer the "beef" taste, I had to add 1 tsp of ginger. I probably added a bit more, I just kept adding until it tasted like soy sauce to me! :) Thanks so much! Kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Feafur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seagrove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Thank you for this recipe...it saved me in a pinch. I made a chicken marinade that called for 1/2 cup soy sauce and this was excellent. I won't buy soy sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYPUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I am intolerant to soy and this recipe is awesome!! Now I can cook a lot of things I wasn't able to since I discovered my intolerance. I followed the recipe except I used veggie bouillon instead to make it vegetarian. It is a little thicker and sweeter than soy sauce but it works great and is tasty. Very salty, but that's to be expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziska

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
It was ok but didn't taste anything like soy sauce! Don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cordova, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This worked very well for a soy-allergic person like myself. But folks are right: This stinks when you're making it. My 6-year-old, normally a very easy-going little guy, made a point to hold his noise and run away to the basement because he said it smelled so awful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States