Soy Sauce Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I will never buy soy sauce again!! This is absolutely amazing. Like soy sauce but a ton more flavour. I use it as a marinade too. Super yummy on pork chops then bbq them. What a find this recipe is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I needed some soy sauce for a recipe and did not want to go get it! I amazingly had all of the ingredients. It is good. Definitely like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Dinwiddie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! I haven't been able to make dishes with soy sauce for years due to allergies. It works great in my recipes.thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I'm in the middle of making dinner and just realized that I ran out of soy sauce and don't have time to run to the supermarket. Surprised at how close this tastes to store bought. Will make sure that I have some reduced sodium beef bouillon for when I make it next time. Thanks very much for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
A very good choice to replace soy sauce. I expect to use this frequently and, with a few modifications, I could use it in many non-oriental foods! Thank you for this recipe and the inspirations it brings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Climax, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Good flavor for being a substitute of soy sauce. I followed the recipe as stated for the original serving size, but to cut back on the sodium, I used beef broth (no sodium, no msg) and added 1 tsp of salt instead of the water plus bouillon. For my taste preference, this was a little stronger on the vinegar taste. I will cut the amount of vinegar used in half next time. I may use this recipe instead of purchasing soy sauce, tweaking to my taste preferences. If you prefer a sweeter soy sauce add more molasses or brown sugar (I'm not sure if adding more molasses would also increase the thickness of the sauce and soy sauce is supposed to be a thin liquid).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
WAY better than soy sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Thank you so much for this awesome recipe! I've had to be gluten free for over a year, and soy free for 8 months, so far, and I miss Chinese food soooo bad. This substitute tasted just like the real deal for me and my husband. I did have to change it a little: I used 1 1/2 cups of organic beef broth instead of bullion because I couldn't find a gluten and soy free version locally; raw apple cider vinegar instead of balsamic, which can be hit or miss for my body; some salt, because my beef broth had barely any; and extra garlic powder. Even with changing it up it tasted PERFECT and made an excellent stir fry! This is much cheaper than buying (that is if you can find) gluten and soy free soy sauce, as well, so it's win-win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Didn't have beef bouillon so I substituted vegetable bouillon and added rice vinegar. Worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Li'l Bit's Craft Corner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
doesn't really taste like soy sauce, but seems to work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States