Soy Sauce Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I will never buy soy sauce ever again. This definitely is worth trying if you want a good soy sauce that doesn't just taste like vinegar and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic DIY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was extrememly helpful when making dinner for my mom who is not to eat soy due to medication. The bullion that I used was Herb Ox Chicken bullion which was sodium free and contained no MSG. I found a lot of bulluion out there that did actually have soy or (soy derivatives) in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was great! We have used it several times and it is great in a stir-fry. After the first time, I made a few changes: I halved the molasses and added a teaspoon or two of salt. Perfect! I haven't eaten soy sauce for about eight years because of my allergies to soy and I was soooo glad when I found this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Thanks for the great recipe. I didnt have Soy Sauce as I was in the middle of a recipe and this tasted just like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Perfect! I substitute beef broth for water and omitted the bouillon- alot of organic bouillon still has allergens. I also used red wine vinegar instead of balsamic since that is what I had in the cupboard. It smells atrocious when cooking but works well as a soy sauce AND Worcheshire sauce substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alto, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Great soy sauce substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Finding this was a dream come true since me and my toddler are sensative to Soy. Finally we can eat our normal favorite asian foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I am allergic to Soy; and this worked great in other recipes that needed soy sauce. My family didn't even realize it was a replacement! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Seemed to work out just perfect! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharipassey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I don't know what those bad reviewers are complaining about. This is a great substitute! Perfect for when you're in the middle of a recipe and can't go to the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States