Soy Sauce Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I substituted brown sugar for the molasses and beef stock for the beef bullion because I didn't have either on hand. I used about a 1/4 cup of water. Brought all ingredients to a gentle boil. It was a nice simple sauce to accompany stir fry veggies and mahi mahi. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Jana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
So many great reviews, but this did not work for us at all. It tastes nothing like soy sauce. If you need a large amount of soy sauce for a marinade or something like that (where you won't taste the final product), this may work very well for you. (That's what I ended up doing with the half-batch that I made, exactly as recipe instructed.) If you're intending to fill an empty bottle and use this as a condiment, you will be disappointed. We will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I was making stir fry and realized I did NOT have ANY soy sauce. Since my mouth was already set on it....I decided to see if there was a recipe and WALA! :) So happy that I found this recipe, I did make some modifications to it though. I used 1.5 Tbsp of beef bouillon concentrate and then to conquer the "beef" taste, I had to add 1 tsp of ginger. I probably added a bit more, I just kept adding until it tasted like soy sauce to me! :) Thanks so much! Kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly J. Mayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seagrove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Thank you for this recipe...it saved me in a pinch. I made a chicken marinade that called for 1/2 cup soy sauce and this was excellent. I won't buy soy sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYPUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I am intolerant to soy and this recipe is awesome!! Now I can cook a lot of things I wasn't able to since I discovered my intolerance. I followed the recipe except I used veggie bouillon instead to make it vegetarian. It is a little thicker and sweeter than soy sauce but it works great and is tasty. Very salty, but that's to be expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziska

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
It was ok but didn't taste anything like soy sauce! Don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cordova, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This worked very well for a soy-allergic person like myself. But folks are right: This stinks when you're making it. My 6-year-old, normally a very easy-going little guy, made a point to hold his noise and run away to the basement because he said it smelled so awful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I can't thank you enough for publishing this recipe. I have a soy sensitivity and have been avoiding any recipes with soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
My son has a soy allergy. I use this recipe weekly, and am so grateful to have found it. I have modified it to make it easier, and no one has complained. I modify the serving size until the water in the ingredients matches the amount of soy sauce I need in a recipe. I skip the beef bouillon, use brown sugar for molasses (b/c I never have molasses on hand), add salt (same amount as pepper) and add the ingredients directly to my recipe, without heating. It works for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
So happy this was posted! Great Substitute! I have a nephew who is allergic to wheat and soy...works perfect for marinades! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States