Soy Sauce Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Very good replacement for that SALTY ol soy sauce we used to use great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Blecch. John, you have many delicious recipes, and this is in no way a knock to your cooking! This just did not resemble soy sauce to me and was very sweet. I edited this to two stars because it worked fairly well in my marinade. My skirt steak was delicious, but this would never work on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Ran out of soy sauce for a marinade and was in a panic! I tried this not having very high hopes but was very pleasantly surprised! It absolutely MADE the marinade. Next time I am ditching the marinade and just using this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
OK, but a beef-based soy sauce substitute just doesn't cut it for a lot of people, especially if needed for vegan/vegetarian dishes. For those who are worried about soy or MSG consider that most bouillon contains hydrolyzed vegetable protein, which is very often soy-based (unless the package specifies soy-free) & that ingredient is loaded with naturally occurring glutamates (which is not a problem for me, because that is where that deep Umami flavor comes from after all). I suggest substituting good quality vegetarian bouillon made with sea salt or if you can find it use some marmite or another kind of yeast extract (or try using both). Ciao.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Will try again, but if I can use the real stuff I will. Maybe more salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Ladwig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
My rating is reflective of my opinion of the sauce and in no way indicates my level of appreciation for the author, which is quite high. What a great idea to make soy sauce at home! I saw all of the high marks and really, really wanted this to be great, however it simply did not work for me. In my mind, it wasn't even remotely reminiscent of soy sauce nor was it acceptable as an alternative. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This saved our dinner when I realized I was out of soy sauce. I just eye-balled the ingredients, and I didn't even boil it. I just put it straight into my stir-fry after mixing in a bowl. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Fantastic. I had to use Italian Dressing instead of Balsamic and it still turned out great! I will never buy soy sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Barba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Excellent recipe! I was making pepper steak and was out of soy sauce. Followed recipe for this and it actually taste better than store bought!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene Humphries

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Very easy substitute that really works. I do only use this when I don't have real soy sauce, but if I discover I'm out of soy sauce, I don't panic. This does fine in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States