Soy Sauce Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
We love this recipe!!! I've used different cream soups to change it around a little, and plan on making it with portebella mushrooms when my SIL comes (she is vegetarian).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Now *this* was really good!! Except for leaving out the mushrooms, which I hate, I didn't change anything -- it was in fact the tanginess I loved. I agree with Ethurston about cooking it less time. Being sure to let the sauce thicken is a key point, and I added the rice to start cooking a bit before the sauce was done, which perhaps allowed the chicken to get done without drying out. Filling too. I too will probably go ahead and add more rice next time. Thanks, Carolyn. Definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This was really good when I finally got done with it! Cooking the chicken thoroughly was the longest part, but it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
As the other reviewer suggested, I decreased soy sauce to only one tablespoon and increased the rice to 3/4 cup. Oh, I also added chopped garlic when sauteing vegetables. Just enough seasoning, but still soupy for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
I did not like this receipe. The color of it was a turn-off being so brown and the chicken was tough. The only good thing was that the rice cooked well but overall I will not being making this receipe again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
husband and I both liked it alot. I added seasoning to the chicken when it was browning. My 11yo did not like it at all, said it was to tangy for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
I baked this for the full hour and a half, and the chicken was super tender. I used half a cup of rice, and was happy with the consistency of the sauce - it made an excellent 'gravy' for the chicken. In addition, I threw in some extra spices - pepper, paprika, and about a cup of shredded cheddar cheese. This was delicious, and would be very good with pork chops also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
My wife and I made a dinner together using this recipe. We both enjoyed the dinner and we will make it again. We made 3 modifications: 1. Decreased soy sauce in half to 1 tablespoon, because my wife says soy sauce makes her retain water. We thought this meal had enough flavor with only half the soy sauce. 2. Increased the rice to 3/4 cups, based on GTIDEY's tip. It worked out just right for us like this. 3. Decreased bake time to just 1 hour. Since the chicken has already been browned in the skillet, I believe it would have been overcooked in the oven if baked for 1 1/2 hours. The meal was well-cooked with just 1 hour bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
GREAT RECIPE! ADDED 3/4 CUPS RICE INSTEAD OF 1/2 AS WELL AS CHESTNUTS. SERVED W/ CHOW MEIN NOODLES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
My family loved this recipe and it is definitly one of my favorites. It is very simple and TASTY... If your not one who likes to stay in the kitchen when preparing meals, this is one you should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States