Sovre Barriga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is pretty close to my recipe. I've been making for years. I grew up in Colombia. My husband is Colombian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
The flavor was great! I used cooking onion since I didn't have red. I used bouillion since I didn't have beef broth. The flank steak fell apart but still needed to be cut across the grain to make it more chewable. I would certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunkirk, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ilikefrenchies
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was very good. I tried lowing the sodium by eliminating the salt, but it is too bland without it. So I would not reccomend skipping the salt. When I added a touch it was wonderful. I do not have a pressure cooker so I used my slow cooker. I browned the meat and then threw everything in, and cooked it for 4 hours. I used a can of busweiser and may try a darker beer next time to see how that goes. I served it with brown rice because that was all I had on hand. Yummy dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
My son made this for his Spanish class project & it was the definite hit of the class!!! Everyone raved about how good it was! We don't have a pressure cooker & were making too much to go in the slow cooker, so we browned the meat & put everything in a pot on top of the stove & cooked it on low (after bringing it to a boil first) for about 3 hours. Sooooo delicious!! We'll be making this for our own family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This was ok. I like the idea but it needs a bit more flavor. I'm not very good at this kind of thing, but maybe some cumin & chile powder to spice it up a bit. Any suggestions anyone? I would like to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEBUG52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I've been following this recipe for years - and thought I should add my reveiw.... my husband is from Colombia also, and says that this tastes just like his mom used to make. My whole family love it... we have it with rice and fried plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Such a weird combination, but the end result is so good. The whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
You can also cook the flank and after it is tender put in the oven for 20 minutes. I just want to add that the real name of this is Sobrebarriga (with B and all together)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
I have made this several times in my pressure cooker. Any meat cooked in the pressure cooker is tender - and this is a nice blend of potatoes/onions with a sauce. The sauce is thin - but is really good on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States