Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
lovely! just like been back in kos!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was good, but even as I was eating it I wondered about all the raving reviews. I used a 2 pound tenderloin with 1 onion and 1 green pepper, but I kept the amount of sauce the same. I put it all in a casserole and stuck it in the fridge for about 3 hours, then baked at 400 for about 20 minutes (we don't have a grill). The meat tasted good, but the flavors weren't that strong-and I don't think it tasted anything like souvlaki :P It was tasty, though, and easy-I'm sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
3 1/2 Stars. Did not have the traditional Souvlaki flavor. Not sure what was off......maybe the soy sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
So good! I used chicken thighs instead of pork and it came out so good. The smell of this grilling was making my mouth water. I too served it with a tsatiki sauce. Next time I'm going to make sure I have pita bread on hand as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I've used this recipe numerous times...should have reviewed it before now. First time, I made as written and it was great. Second time, I doubled the lemon and garlic and added a bit more soy. Either way, delicious! Along with the pork, I skewered onions, bell peppers, cherry tomatoes, lemon quarters and mushrooms. Marinating 3-4 hours does the trick for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
My husband made this in the oven and it was delish!! He seared the meat, then put it in a pan, poured in the liquid mixture and put the peppers and onions on top of the meat, covered it with foil and cooked it at 350 degrees for the first hour, then 250 degrees for 2 more hours. Superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made this with chicken and while it was good it wasn't the souvlaki I'm used to. I marinated this overnight and it still wasn't as garlicky as I'd like. I would at least double the garlic and increase the oregano to achieve the flavor of souvlaki at greek restaurant's I've been to. I didn't skewer this either; had my hubby just basket grill on the barbeque. Veggies were delish but still missed strong flavor in the meat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This recipes never fails to please. I recently did a vegan version for a potluck and subbed the pork for eggplant. This marinade is great with pork, chicken, beef, lamb, tofu or just veggies. I've tried all variations and they all came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
It was easy enough to make but it is something that definitely needs to be grilled because baking it doesn't taste quite as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
LOved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States