Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This recipe was so tasty, absolutely delicious on the BBQ. My husband loved it and my mother asked me to make it for our family reunion! I even loved it and I'm far from a pork lover. The pork was so tender after marinating that it fell off the skewers, and the taste was wonderful. 5 stars for sure! This one went in my favourites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teekathepony

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
this is a fantastic and very simple recipe. i make souvlaki twice a month now. the only thing i would add to the instructions is to soak the wooden skewers for a while before using them so they dont burn as quickly on the bbq. yummy yummy yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
My family and I really enjoyed this. The marinade is fabulous and as my daughter was helping me skewer she kept saying it smelled so good she wanted to lick her hands!! (LOL) I made this on the grill and we ate it with warm pita and tzuziki sauce--AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
lovely! just like been back in kos!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was good, but even as I was eating it I wondered about all the raving reviews. I used a 2 pound tenderloin with 1 onion and 1 green pepper, but I kept the amount of sauce the same. I put it all in a casserole and stuck it in the fridge for about 3 hours, then baked at 400 for about 20 minutes (we don't have a grill). The meat tasted good, but the flavors weren't that strong-and I don't think it tasted anything like souvlaki :P It was tasty, though, and easy-I'm sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
3 1/2 Stars. Did not have the traditional Souvlaki flavor. Not sure what was off......maybe the soy sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
So good! I used chicken thighs instead of pork and it came out so good. The smell of this grilling was making my mouth water. I too served it with a tsatiki sauce. Next time I'm going to make sure I have pita bread on hand as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I've used this recipe numerous times...should have reviewed it before now. First time, I made as written and it was great. Second time, I doubled the lemon and garlic and added a bit more soy. Either way, delicious! Along with the pork, I skewered onions, bell peppers, cherry tomatoes, lemon quarters and mushrooms. Marinating 3-4 hours does the trick for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
My husband made this in the oven and it was delish!! He seared the meat, then put it in a pan, poured in the liquid mixture and put the peppers and onions on top of the meat, covered it with foil and cooked it at 350 degrees for the first hour, then 250 degrees for 2 more hours. Superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made this with chicken and while it was good it wasn't the souvlaki I'm used to. I marinated this overnight and it still wasn't as garlicky as I'd like. I would at least double the garlic and increase the oregano to achieve the flavor of souvlaki at greek restaurant's I've been to. I didn't skewer this either; had my hubby just basket grill on the barbeque. Veggies were delish but still missed strong flavor in the meat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Grilled chicken kabobs with Greek-inspired flavors and cucumber yogurt sauce.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States