Souvlaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This is, by far, our go-to recipe for the grill this summer! Really fantastic! We've been using pork tenderloin or chicken thighs. We increase the garlic and allow to marinade as long as possible (left it for 2 days at one point). We measure all of the ingredients (minus the meat) into a small mason jar and shake shake shake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This is a delicious, easy, and versatile recipe. I usually omit the green peppers as a taste preference and serve in a pita with a few slices of red onion, a couple of slices of tomato, some lettuce and a touch of cucumber sauce. Very good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I bought some pre-made beef and chicken kabobs from the grocers. I reduced the serving size to 6 and put them in for about 4 hours. I didn't try the beef, but the chicken was excellent. Just a subtle flavor, but definitely a recipe I'll keep on hand for making my own kabobs with next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
delicious! we use this marinade frequently in the summer for grilling pork cubes or chicken breast. Sometimes we have a Greek-themed meal along with it, but lots of times we just use it as a great basic marinade. Very tasty and kid-friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I'm not a fan of oregano, leave out next time & use lemon pepper instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Liberty, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
We marinated over night. Good flavour but a bit boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I have tried this as a marinade AND as a pan-cooked meal, BOTH are unbelievably delicious! It works with pork or chicken and is a favorite in my house and with my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
we absolutely loved this recipe! have been trying to experience different cultures as of late and we decided to go Greek this time, and this recipe captured our attention. Was AWESOME! My husband was the one that made it and he did say that if I reviewed it to mention that he did double the marinade - that he didn't feel that it was enough as the recipe called for, but that was his only negative comment, if you can even call that negative :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Brilliant! I have made this now several times as presented in the recipe, as suggested by reviewers, and with a little monkeying of my own. I am so very pleased to opine that there is just no way to improve on this skillful base recipe (Well, maybe the feta cheese when it is served over rice). Recipes like this just come along so infrequently that I could not help to comment just to say thanks to the submitter. Thank you Ms. Benner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
FANTASTIC. This recipe is fabulous! I used chicken instead of pork, omitting the onions & peppers and pan-fried it instead of skewering. I did 4 chicken breasts, but only 2 made it to the table as we kept 'trying' pieces. Served with a salad and rice. Have now made this recipe 10 times. Love it. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YRYKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States