Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Excellent! Followed the recipe but took several suggestions and added the corn and black beans. I didn't have an avocado but put sour cream on top along with cheese and it was great. Used spicey mexican corn and black beans which made it a bit snappy so we toned it down with elbow macaroni! This is on the 'make again' list for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Not a very hearty soup, but tasty all the same. Great if you're trying to be calorie conscious after eating too much at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Great soup!! i even added leftover can of pumpkin and cheese i mixed together to make raviolis. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nice, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France
Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Way 2 hot for normal people! 2 much spice. hated I wasted the time and energy and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Very good flavor. I didn't use canned green chills, instead I cut up one jalapeño pepper and it was very tasty with a lot of flavor. I also simmered longer to let the flavor mesh. Even better the next day when the flavors mixed longer. Next time I will added crispy tortilla chips onto and maybe a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Good way to use up leftover Thanksgiving turkey. Everyone enjoyed this at dinner last night. I sauteed the onion and garlic in olive oil prior to adding the remaining ingredients. Used the stewed tomatoes with celery/onion/garlic and omitted the additional fresh tomatoes since I was adding a can of black beans and a small can of corn. Left out the avocado and sour cream. Topped with Mexican blend cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Excellent... I added the black beans and corn and made a big old batch... Everyone in the family loved it, even my rather picky 17 year old. Going to have to make turkey more often just so we can have this soup! EXCELLENT ALL AROUND!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Really enjoyed this with leftover Thanksgiving turkey. After reading the other reviews I added cannelli beans, had left over butter beans and added a few, if I'd had leftover corn I would have added this too. The seasonings were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This really WAS an interesting solution for the pile of turkey in the fridge! I will admit here that I dislike turkey. Like SERIOUSLY DISKLIKE turkey. So it is imperative that it is hidden away in something non-Thanksgiving in appearance after the big day. I made the recipe pretty much as directed except I didn't have fresh tomatoes... so I skipped those. And I didn't have MJ cheese for topping @ the end, but I did have cheddar. But I DID have an avocado on hand. Weird, I know. I sauteed the onions & garlic in a TBSP of olive oil to get a fond going before adding all the liquids/other ingredients... chopped the turkey pretty fine & added about 1/2 a cup extra of (just because I'm desperate to make it go away). I let it cook down longer (because I forgot about it) so it was much thicker than I thought it would be. The flavor was GREAT... not "spicy"...but definitely had a kick... and made me forget it was turkey. BONUS! Put a little sour cream on it also... reminded me of chili soup of some sort. I would definitely make this again... with or without turkey... maybe left over chicken or beef roast. Nice that it had no rice, noodles, potatoes or beans... so had a wholesome veggie/lowish carb kind of quality about it. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I would have rated this at 4 stars without the toppings, but once the cheese (I used cheddar), tortilla chips, & I saved the avacado's & cilantro for toppings were added, it turned GOOD into GREAT! This will be my new Post-Thanksgiving Turkey Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States