Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I slow cooked this and threw in jalapeno's and it was amazing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Fabulous and easy. I subbed I can of rotel tomatoes for the plum tomatoes and chiles and skipped the onion. I added a can of corn.Serve with sour cream, chips and cheddar - awesome!!! I did use leftover smoked turkey from Thanksgiving - our family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Delicious with some changes - I made turkey broth from a smoked turkey carcass instead of using vegetable broth. (If you don't have a smoker, you could probably use chipotle peppers in place of the chilis.) I also used two tablespoons of fresh cilantro instead of dried. A definite repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Love love love this recipe. I use it as my go to chicken or turkey soup base. I've made it exactly to the recipe as well as tweaking it, all are so yummy! I hate when people review recipes and change it so much and then give it a bad review.....as i said ive made this exactly to recipe and its great as is, but here are a couple tweaks I recommend. 1. I've substituted a can of sweet corn for the chili peppers. I love it spicy but my 9 year old does not. Tis way she will eat it too! 2. I fry the onions first. Caramelizes them nicely. 3. I've substituted the chilis for diced fresh mushrooms and/ or carrots. 4. I generally do half chicken no sodium broth and half stock from the chicken or turkey I just made. Makes it much tastier. 5. I chop up the avacado and put it right in there. 6. I double the chicken or turkey. I love chunky meaty soups! 7. I cook mine in the crock pot. I do for 8 hours on low and the last half hour on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
It's a good base. I think that next time, I'll add more to jazz it up (maybe some beans, corn, and fresh jalapeno).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
At first we were hesitant to try this. But we did it anyway and we are happy we did. We really liked this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Giving this a strong 4 ... In my husbands words (who is a solid meat and potato guy) "it's hard to give any soup 5 stars..this was close" made pretty much to the T! Thanks Doug! Will 100% make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Another recipe in my box for awhile that I finally got to make it. Great way to use up leftover turkey. Glad we got one last cold blast for soup this past week. I pretty much followed the recipe, except threw in a garden jalapeño and poblano pepper, since I like heat. Oh and I put a can of pinto beans for fiber. Thanks Doug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I really loved the tomato, garlic, and onion flavor of the soup. I have never actually cooked the avacado and that was really yummy. I so wish though, that I would have read where it said the soup had a kick. Wow, does it! I was worried about the green chilis and subbed salsa verde. Some other small changes I had to make were using 2 14.5 oz cans of petite diced tomatoes, fresh cilantro for dried, and 1/2 the amount of lemon juice for the lime. I was wondering where the hot kick came from and then realized it might be the cayenne pepper. As I liked the overall fresh flavor, I may make this again and reduce the spices or at least the cayenne. I served it with the cheese suggested and some crushed tortilla chips. Thanks, Doug
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is a great twist to turkey soup! My picky husband doesn't like my standard turkey soup recipe but loves this one. Will definitely make it again, may even before Thanksgiving - using chicken as a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandiH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States