Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was a good base recipe. I made broth with a turkey carcass and then added 2 small cans of crushed tomatoes. I was in a hurry so I didn't add any fresh aromatics but next time I will saute some onion, garlic and jalapeno and add them to the soup. I added 2 limes because I had a lot of broth and I loved the taste of it. Almost like Tom Yam but with a Southwestern flair. The amount of spice called for was not enough so I upped that and added black beans and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Delicious and easy! And I'm sure it would be just as delish with chicken. I took others' suggestions and added a can of Rotel tomatoes, a can of black beans, and used a little extra cumin and about a TBSP of chili powder. I also used diced peeled tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes. I also sauted the onion with triple the amount of minced garlic. Cooked it in the slow cooker on high for a couple of hours, then added 1/4 cup fresh chopped cilantro, some sour cream, maybe 1/4 cup, and 1/2 the cheese. Then we added sour cream, cheese and avocado to suit our individual tastes. The only thing I'll change next time is to stir the sour cream into a small cup of the soup and then add to the pot. It seemed to clump a bit when I dumped it straight into the soup mixture. Thanks, Doug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I added mac and cheese balls and spiced it up a little more. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica D Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This is a great recipe that can be made as written or modified to your own taste. I used a large can of rotel tomatoes Instead of the can of regular tomatoes and plum tomatoes. I also added a can of Mexican corn and black beans. It was delish. Thanks Doug for a great recipe. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Although I didn't follow the recipe as it, I thought it was pretty good! Following some of the past reviews, I sautéed the garlic and onion first, and then added the tomatoes (just used diced, seasoned tomatoes and diced tomatoes with green chile) and turkey and seasoned with cumin and cayenne. Then I added some corn and black beans and simmered 15-20 minutes. It came out very tasty! It was warm and not too spicy. I served tortilla chips, cilantro, mont. jack cheese, and avocado on the side. I'm sure some sour cream would be a good topper as well, but I didn't have any. Mine was a great way to help get rid of some leftover turkey and corn from thanksgiving! The best thing was that it was definitely not boring! Hope this was helpful! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Follwed the recipe pretty closely. I used left over turkeyftom the freezer, left out the cilantro, and added a cup of salsa. I cooked it in the crockpot, adding the salsa just begore serving, and the cheese and guacamole when I served it. This was a wonderful use of left overs. I am sure we will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Poston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is yummy! I did cook it in the slow cooker, which meant the house gave me a super aromatic welcome! Tasted as good as it smelled! Only thing I did different is, I left out the avocado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Hubby said that it was very tasty. He is a very picky eater, so this is a big complement. I used Chicken Base, Celery, Corn, and Pinto Beans. I eye-balled it to make a huge batch in the crock pot. Let simmer for several hours (until the onion was tender).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I changed it so much it no longer resembles this recipe. BUT this was the one that gave me all the great ideas. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I used this recipe as a basis and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Fuselier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States