Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I modified a bit because I like more depth in my soup and used chicken instead of turkey (what I had available). I sauteed the onion and garlic in the oil first before adding stewed tomatoes along with the fresh romas. I also added corn and black beans. I must say I enjoyed adding the lime it brightened up the soup but I disliked the chopped avocado, I love avocadoes but the flavors of the soup made them taste a little strange. I prefer topping the soup with Guacamole instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
My family enjoyed this soup. We substituted 2 cups of tomato juice for 2 of the cups of beef broth and fresh cilantro for the dried. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Very versatile recipe. I had fun with it, cowboy style. I used a couple of can that were tomato and chilis already in them. Great Nortern beans instead of avacado ( I will try the avacado next time sounds delicious ) Oh! I also added corn. It was spicy. I add a splash of half and half for my child who doesn't like spicy. It is a wonderful soup and has lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Griffiths-Hutton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
very very good - and southwesterny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Italy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This is a yummy and unique soup. I added canned kidney and garbanzo beans to stretch it out a little further. My kids really like it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Excellent, very much like chicken tortilla. Could use chicken instead of turkey. Avacado addition is awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Excellent soup! My family loved it. I added half a can of corn(rinsed) and half a can of pinto beans(rinsed) for that authentic southwestern taste. I topped with extra sharp cheddar and jack and fresh cilantro. Also I had some french bread for Dipping. (My three year old loved doing that) Or you could serve it with crispy tortilla strips. (that's how my husband likes it.Also remember to keep stirring this as some of the solids may stick to the bottom. Good recipe thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ayala Simmons
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
this soup was good but I thought it lacked substance. I think I should have added some rice or some chunky veggies to it to make it more filling. The flavor was good. It was also a little too time consuming for the payoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
So easy - throw it all in the crock pot, add corn, garlic, thyme, and even some noodles/rice may work too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
WOW..What a great alternative to the turkey noodle soup for a leftover turkey carcass. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States