Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This was so easy to make. It's the perfect soup for using up the Thanksgiving turkey. I added black beans and corn. The avacados really make it! It's just so comforting and delicious. I'll always use leftover turkey this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
As written, I didn't like this recipe much, but thought it had potential. So... I doctored it quite a bit and it turns out to be amazing. I took it to work today and everyone went wild and requested the recipe. I put the turkey, broth (I used turkey stock left over from T'giving), onion, a can of black beans, a can of corn, one can of chopped tomatoes, one can of Rotel tomatoes with chilis, FOUR cloves of garlic minced, the juice of one entire lime, and seasonings as written in my crock pot on low. Eight hours later I returned from work and added about a half cup chopped fresh cilantro, two cups of shredded colby-jack cheese, and a cup of sour cream. Stirred and let it heat on high for about thirty minutes. Then I crushed tortilla chips in the bottom of the bowl, ladled the soup over, and put more grated cheese on top. TO DIE FOR! Tastes like Chipotle in a bowl. Seriously good. Doesn't look that pretty but incredibly tasty. I gave the recipe five stars as written to keep the ratings high so people would experiment with this FABULOUS soup! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
478 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This soup was really good. I made a few minor changes, like used Chicken broth,increased the cumin and used both dried and fresh cilantro. I also like the posters idea of serving over crushed tortilla chips. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUESKYCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This soup was excellent! My husband loved it with just a bit of shredded cheese on top. I cooled the spice off a bit with some sour cream and cheese - very tasty! I followed the recipe exactly (almost). I used homemade turkey broth rather than the vegetable broth because I prefer the flavor. I also used fresh cilantro. Other than that - I didn't make any changes. Next time I will add some black beans just for a bit of variety. Definitely a keeper - this will be a day after Thanksgiving tradition in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
This soup is so incredibly tasty, I have a hard time not going back for third and forth servings. I didn't have the romas nor the chile peppers to add one time, and found the soup was just as tasty. It's quick and easy to make too. Thanks, Doug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
I have made this many, many times! It is so delicious. I change it a bit though: we use chicken (don't like turkey), chicken broth instead of vegetable, I use pepper jack cheese rather than plain jack, and I pour the soup over a handful of crushed thick corn tortilla chips over the top just before serving. We also use fresh cilantro! Then we top it with a hearty dollop of sour cream! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
I had a bag of cut-up leftover turkey that I had frozen, and this soup was perfect for it! I used chicken broth instead of vegetable, and didn't add the avocado (cuz I personally don't like 'em). Turned out well! And I agree with other reviewers... it's great with added beans or corn. Very good... will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
This was really good. A very different taste than my usual turkey soup. I added a can of black beans as previously suggested. I couldn't find avacados so I went without it and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
This recipe is wonderful! I embellished it a bit by adding a a couple cans of black beans and a can of sweet corn. What a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Ellis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Great recipe, especially if you are dieting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States