Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I made this soup last night with left over turkey from thanksgiving and we loved it. I did add corn and black beans. I also used diced tomatoes with green chiles which I believe may have made the soup a little spicier then I would like. I will continue to play with this recipe but it definetly is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made some alterations to this one because I'm not huge on tomatoes in my soup. I cut the canned tomatoes in half and omitted the romas. I also used one fresh poblano pepper that I blackened over the open flame of my gas stove rather than the canned peppers. Also, I threw in some ABC pasta at the very end to add some chunkiness. I cooked this soup in my slow-cooker, and it turned out well--the flavor was just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I love soup and this recipe is in my recipe book to stay. True flavor and lots of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This was just ok. It was easy and filling though. We had it with light sour cream and some tortilla chips. I prefer other "southwestern" soup recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I modified a bit because I like more depth in my soup and used chicken instead of turkey (what I had available). I sauteed the onion and garlic in the oil first before adding stewed tomatoes along with the fresh romas. I also added corn and black beans. I must say I enjoyed adding the lime it brightened up the soup but I disliked the chopped avocado, I love avocadoes but the flavors of the soup made them taste a little strange. I prefer topping the soup with Guacamole instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
My family enjoyed this soup. We substituted 2 cups of tomato juice for 2 of the cups of beef broth and fresh cilantro for the dried. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Very versatile recipe. I had fun with it, cowboy style. I used a couple of can that were tomato and chilis already in them. Great Nortern beans instead of avacado ( I will try the avacado next time sounds delicious ) Oh! I also added corn. It was spicy. I add a splash of half and half for my child who doesn't like spicy. It is a wonderful soup and has lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLEY CAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
very very good - and southwesterny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Italy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This is a yummy and unique soup. I added canned kidney and garbanzo beans to stretch it out a little further. My kids really like it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Excellent, very much like chicken tortilla. Could use chicken instead of turkey. Avacado addition is awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States