Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Thought this recipe was a great switch from Turkey ala King. Husband loved it as I thought he might since he could add Tortilla chips to it. I cooked it in a crock pot about six hours. Used hotter japelenos, black beans and corn, shredded cheddar, it was very good. I've learned two new essentials (including a dressing recipe) for the holidays from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
There was something wierd about this recipe. I haven't figured it out yet, but my daughter has required me to promise I'll make this again and again so I guess it was a success. This could be thickened into more of a chili by adding refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
OK, did I miss something in the directions? I added my can of whole peeled tomatoes to the pot, and they remained "whole" throughout the cooking process. I had to scoop them out and dice them up and return them to the pot. The flavors are very interesting and it's not too spicy. I thought it would be a bit less chunky. I will make it again. I think adding corn to it sounds great, just didn't have any. Certainly better than the typical turkey rice soup for leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Last month I slightly overcooked a turkey tenderloin that had been marinated in lime and tequila. I didn't want to serve it to company and I didn't want to throw it out so I wrapped it in foil and threw it in the freezer until I could figure out what to do with it. Along came this recipe and I knew I had found a home for my poor turkey tenderloin. Since the turkey had already been marinated in lime, I didn't add the lime, but I added the fresh cilantro, corn and beans as others suggested. Wow! This is a do over, which is high praise in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConstanceCooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
My fiance and I really liked this soup. Since we like spicy things, I doubled the amount of chiles and cayenne pepper. We didn't have shredded turkey, so I bought the ground turkey and browned it. We've made it a few times. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This recipe is a great starter, to modify to your liking. I used turkey broth, added black beans, corn and used fresh cilantro. I put it in the crock pot on high for 4 hours, then low until served. I'll be making this after every turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
We also added a can of corn and about 3/4 c. of black beans and cooked it in the crock pot. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Awesome soup. I honestly was not optimistic that my kids especially would go for this soup, but boy was I wrong! They asked for more! I great way to use up left over turkey too! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
My husband and I loved this soup! It was a terrific change from turkey noodle. I used the leftover broth from boiling the giblets and leftover gravy. If you double the recipe (I did x4) DO NOT use the recommended amts of spices or jalapenos. I cut way back and it was still very spicy. I did not use the avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States