Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
We also added a can of corn and about 3/4 c. of black beans and cooked it in the crock pot. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Awesome soup. I honestly was not optimistic that my kids especially would go for this soup, but boy was I wrong! They asked for more! I great way to use up left over turkey too! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
My husband and I loved this soup! It was a terrific change from turkey noodle. I used the leftover broth from boiling the giblets and leftover gravy. If you double the recipe (I did x4) DO NOT use the recommended amts of spices or jalapenos. I cut way back and it was still very spicy. I did not use the avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Excellent! My husband is a terribly picky eater, and usually refuses to eat leftovers. Not only did he LOVE this recipe, but ate the leftover soup for two more meals. I'm making this tonight for the third time since Thanksgiving per his request. Like other reviewers I doctored it by adding a can of corn and a can of black beans. I also use a can of the mexican chopped tomatoes with cilanto versus roma tomatoes. I usually double the amount of turkey and up the amount of broth as well. I serve it with sour cream and grated cheese on the side and skip the avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Fabulous! The only problem was I should have doubled the recipe as everyone went back for seconds. I did make a few changes however; added corn as suggested, 2 stalks of chopped celery as well as 1/4c of cream. Thanks very much for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I made this soup tonight with my leftover turkey from Christmas. Boy was this great,easy and fast! I added a 7oz can of Embassa diced green chiles (a little hotter than normal) and a tablespoon of Chile powder. I also followed other peoples advice and added a can of black beans rinsed and frozen corn. I ommitted the roma tomatoes and went with the can of diced. I served it with a dallop of sour cream and tortilla chips crunched up on top. My kids even thought it was great. Thanks Dave this is a keeper and I'll use up all my dark turkey meat this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
WONDERFUL! YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY ! I was trying to figure out how to use up Thanksgiving Day leftovers and have made it 3x since then. Only thing I added was corn. Thank you for such a warm and filling perfect winter day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This may be the easiest soup I have ever made. I doctored it up a little with hominy and white beans. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
i didn't have much in my pantry but i did need an easy way to use all the turkey leftovers my family gave me. i omitted the roma tomatoes, avocado and cheese since i had none of those and added a bit more shredded turkey than called for. i also used diced tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes and only used 3 cups of broth. i added some hot sauce to my individual bowl since i like my southwestern soups really spicy and served with saltine crackers. it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artgrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I eliminated the roma tomatoes, cut up the whole tomatoes (next time I'll use diced), added leftover cooked corn, and chopped up half a fresh jalapeno pepper. It was spicy..serve lots of water...but de-lish! We garnished with tortilla chip bits (the stuff at the bottom of the bag) and used the monterey jack cheese in grilled cheese sandwiches...thanks for a really different way to use leftover turkey! Will definitely do this one again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States