Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I used 8 cups of turkey broth (but I didn't increase the red pepper and it was plenty spicy)...I did increase the cumin. I didn't have the fresh tomatoes, but it was fine anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I served this over crushed tortilla chips and used jalapeños instead of green chilis. Will make again. Good base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
So easy and so versatile! It makes a great soup, or thicken it for a burrito topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Thought this recipe was a great switch from Turkey ala King. Husband loved it as I thought he might since he could add Tortilla chips to it. I cooked it in a crock pot about six hours. Used hotter japelenos, black beans and corn, shredded cheddar, it was very good. I've learned two new essentials (including a dressing recipe) for the holidays from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
There was something wierd about this recipe. I haven't figured it out yet, but my daughter has required me to promise I'll make this again and again so I guess it was a success. This could be thickened into more of a chili by adding refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
OK, did I miss something in the directions? I added my can of whole peeled tomatoes to the pot, and they remained "whole" throughout the cooking process. I had to scoop them out and dice them up and return them to the pot. The flavors are very interesting and it's not too spicy. I thought it would be a bit less chunky. I will make it again. I think adding corn to it sounds great, just didn't have any. Certainly better than the typical turkey rice soup for leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Last month I slightly overcooked a turkey tenderloin that had been marinated in lime and tequila. I didn't want to serve it to company and I didn't want to throw it out so I wrapped it in foil and threw it in the freezer until I could figure out what to do with it. Along came this recipe and I knew I had found a home for my poor turkey tenderloin. Since the turkey had already been marinated in lime, I didn't add the lime, but I added the fresh cilantro, corn and beans as others suggested. Wow! This is a do over, which is high praise in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConstanceCooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
My fiance and I really liked this soup. Since we like spicy things, I doubled the amount of chiles and cayenne pepper. We didn't have shredded turkey, so I bought the ground turkey and browned it. We've made it a few times. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This recipe is a great starter, to modify to your liking. I used turkey broth, added black beans, corn and used fresh cilantro. I put it in the crock pot on high for 4 hours, then low until served. I'll be making this after every turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States