Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I liked it, didn't LOVE it. I am still trying to figure out yet what exactly it IS I would change to bump it up a notch. After reading the previous reviews I think maybe using chicken or turkey broth would help....and maybe the black beans and cilantro too. I only used 1/4 tsp of the cayenne since hubby doesn't love spicy stuff...but that wasn't really the issue. I have a bunch of leftovers. I think I will try adding the beans and cilanto to them...... Update>tried doctoring the leftovers. Much better! Added another tsp of cilantro, a can of black beans, a pkg of creamed corn, and 1/4 tsp each of chili, cumin and coriander. This version was a big hit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made this soup yesterday and it's really, really good. Me too added a can of black beans and a can of corn. Highly recommended. Petra 12/02/2009
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This soup was excellent and a wonderful way to use the turkey leftovers. I did add one 14.5 oz. can of drained and rinsed black beans, and one 14.5 oz. can of creamed corn. Instead of vegetable broth I used 4 cups of water with about 2 tbps of chicken soup base but I think either vegetable or chicken broth or fresh chicken or turkey broth would work. I ladled the soup into crocks and put shredded cheddar on top and melted it for a few minutes in the oven. I then added the avocados and sour cream. I will definitely make this again with either leftover chicken or turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I gave this recipe 4 stars because I did not follow it exactly. I made a few changes, but it turned out great! It was a great way to use leftover turkey from Thanksgiving! I added 1 can of pinto beans, 1 can shoe peg corn. I sauteed the onion with 3 cloves of garlic in EVOO until tender, then I added the broth, beans, roma tomatoes, and corn. I used most of the canned whole tomatoes, but I pureed it before adding it to the soup. I added a little more than 1/2 tsp of cumin and I also added a little bit of chili powder to taste. I also used fresh cilantro as opposed to dried. I did not add the avocado. I served the soup with sour cream, shredded monterey jack and cheddar cheese, and tortilla chips to crumble on the top. I also made corn bread to serve with the soup. It was really yummy and it had quite a kick to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This recipie was so good! As other reviewers sugessted I added a can of black beans and a can of corn. Will make again and was a really good use of left over tukey from thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orient, Ohio, USA
Living In: Naha, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this tonight and want to say that everyone should make this as written! I did use fresh cilantro because I didn't have dried, and I love lots of cilantro, but other than that I followed the written recipe. It is great! It does not need corn or beans, but of course you can add them if you must, but the soup is very tasty and filling as it is. This is going to be a regular in my house. Even my picky son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Awesome and will make again!! I did add the can of black beans as others suggested. I also lessened the cayenne pepper and chilies but that is just a personal preference. Wonderful way to use up the left over turkey and not feel like I'm having another meal of turkey leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I make mine using the turkey carcass to make a stock. Much more flavorful than vegetable broth. I also use fresh chopped jalapeno peppers rather than canned. I sprinkle it with shredded cheddar cheese and tortillas cut into strips like noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
A lot of great reviews. I had no idea so many people were so creative and interested in good cooking. However, I agree with a previous reviewer. I would use the turkey carcass and bones to make the stock, and the turkey bits that come off the bones. Keep the rest the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This will be a day after Thanksgiving dish for a long time. It was great! I substituted the green chilies with jalapenos. It made it quite spicy (yum) and we topped it with cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkrek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States