Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I made this with turkey leftovers, and did not go over well, but my family loved it when I used chicken instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
How does one go about awarding a GOLD star?! This was a HUGE hit with my husband. I made the recipe as stated and topped with tortilla salad toppers. It was wonderful! What I like the most about this recipe is that you can easily add things to it without compromising the flavor. Next time I will use chicken breasts and maybe try adding a few black beans and some corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This soup is awesome. Tweaked it a bit, added black olives, corn and fresh cilantro and leave off the cheese. Have a pot of it on simmering now made with a rosemary and garlic chicken I baked. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Hepler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is a really good soup. I varied it a little to use what I had on hand, but the essence was the same. I like that I can vary the heat factor and the recipe is so flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Fantastic! Great use of our leftover Thanksgiving turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made this exactly like the recipe with one exception - I used fresh cilantro. It WAS FABULOUS!! The best soup I have ever had. It was chunky, but it had the best flavor. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolBL
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Great way to use up every bit of the turkey meat! I added a can of corn and more onions. I also used left over vegetables (celery, onions, carrot sticks, a bay leaf) to make own vegetable stock. My family wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was good, but I didn't give it 4 stars because without modifications it wouldn't have been as good. At the halfway point I thought it needed more since it was very tomatoey and brothy and the was about it. I added some corn (maybe a 1/3 cup) and a can of rinsed black beans. I also added extra cilantro and cumin. I was worried about it being too spicy for the kids, so I reduced the cayenne to 1/4 teaspoon which was plenty. Topped with cheddar, sour cream, and crushed tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Even following the changes that most reviewers suggested, this soup did nothing for any of us. We didn't eat it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
YUM. What a great healthy way to use leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurenmommyof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States