Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Awesome! Added black beans and corn. A another tsp of seasoning (chili pepper, paprika, cayenne). Cut out the cilantro and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Loved this recipe! I did change some things that others recommended. I added a can of black beans, 1 cup of corn, and I omitted the avocado. After making the soup, I topped the bowls with sour cream. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arosborne1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Very good soup! The only thing I changed was I added a can of black beans. We are having leftovers again tonight for supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matherville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I have made this twice and it is a fantastic recipe for leftover turkey! Use at least double the turkey and only 2 cans of vegetable broth. There is no need to use the fresh tomatoes. Absolutely use fresh cilantro! I served it once with Roasted Red Pepper muffins. Husband requests it over rice the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
We didn't really care for this soup. It smelled good while it was cooking but it just didn't taste very good. It might be the combination of turkey and tomatoes that didn't work for me, I'm not sure, but I didn't think it tasted very good. It did help to add crushed tortilla chips to the bowls and put some cheese and a little sour cream on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garlicmakesitgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I made a couple changes just for what I had on hand. I had four large turkey drumsticks that I bought on the cheap, so I cooked them down and pieced them out and used the broth (that I flavored up with onion, garlic, cumin, coriander, paprika and oregano) that I made in this soup. I didn't have whole peeled tomatoes but I did have fire-roasted tomatoes, so I used that. I upped the spices quite a bit and threw in two chopped red bell pepper when I sauteed the onion and garlic. It's a great way to use turkey on the cheap, which I really appreciate and this soup as a whole is pretty low-cal, if you lighten up on your cheese sprinkling hand. Plus, it's quick, even making my own broth. After I had the broth made, it literally took me less than a half hour to pull this soup together. But, you might need more spice. I like my soups really kickin', so I just spiced away. After taste testing, I think it needs something else. I can't put my finger on it. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Doug. NOTE: And for all of you who are like me and buy turkey drumsticks for the cheap meat, four large is exactly enough for a pot of this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Surprisingly fabulous. Added black beans. Grated some pepperjack cheese on it. Crunched in some Tostios Artisan recipes Roasted Garlic and Black Beans tortilla chips over the top. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I can't count the number of times I've made this. Everyone loves it! I make it year round with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I reallly loved this recipe and I followed the recipe exactly but added four cans of lower sodium pinto beans-YumYUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This isn't my type of thing, but my roommate can't get enough of it. He will eat a whole batch in one sitting, it's ridiculous. I've also made this with chicken and it works just as well, I usually use homemade broth. I also have one thing that I change, and that is that I don't use avocado, and I add a can of corn and a can of black beans. Sometimes I add jalapenos at my roommates request for some extra spice. I usually forget about the cheese, but it's good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States