Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
substituted cayanne pepper ith an adobo pepper minced. Fabulously warm and yummy! Kids loved it paired with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
First off, I HAVE to say how grateful I am to find this recipe on here!! I had more than my feel of turkey sandwiches and sick to death of turkey. This recipe has the best flavors and my husband loved it. The only change I made was the whole peeled tomatoes. I used fire roasted diced tomatoes instead and added a tablespoon of chicken bouillon crystals. Other than that, I followed the recipe down to the cornbread. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
WONDERFUL!!!! Unlike many soups, this one has plenty of flavor from day one! I rarely take time to rate recipes, but this one is a keeper. A great way to use up the less desirable leftover parts of the turkey. Like many reviewers, I found the basic recipe easily adaptable to what I had in my kitchen. (I used chicken broth, extra turkey and spices, 1 can each of fire roasted salsa tomatoes, stewed tomatoes, mild tomatoes w/ green chilis, corn, and a drained, rinsed can black beans-no avacado.) We had it "plain" (brothy) today; will wait a day or two and add sour cream and cheeses to leftovers to make it different. LOVED IT! Thanks, Doug, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This soup was a fantastic way to use up our leftover turkey! I added corn and black beans, as well as half a block of cream cheese, my son and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Excelente Doug! Fabuloso tambien! :) I have been meaning to try this for quite some time and finally had some leftover turkey to do it with! The only changes I made were to sub fresh ingredients for canned/dried. I loathe canned anything, so used 6 fresh, roma tomatoes (peeled and chopped), and used some of my pickled serrano peppers that I made in August (all to eliminate all the needless sodium in canned goods). I did add 2 cups of pinto beans that I had in the freezer (dried beans that I soaked and cooked earlier) and used fresh cilantro instead of dried. With the addition of the beans, it made it that much more healthier and filling! I topped with fat-free sour cream and low-fat cheese.... I have 2 containers leftover that will be used up in the next few days, this really is an awesome flavoured soup with the ingredients used...and a MUST for this recipe is to use fresh cilantro...dried just doesn't cut it! :) Thank you again Doug for the inspiration in this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Loved this recipe but added 4 cups turkey and more cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I wouldn't have thought to add the lime juice on my own, but it really brightened the soup. As others have recommended, I made changes and added red pepper, black beans, corn and used only canned tomatoes (with juice.) I also added a handful of noodles, but would also love this with rice or tortilla strips. I think fresh cilantro atop this soup is key- skip the dried stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Very good. Gave 4 stars instead of 5 because I think it needs the addition of Beans & Corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I hate rating a recipe when I've done as many changes as I have with this one. But Doug's basic recipe is a winner as far as I'm concerned, with or without my changes. For four, I use 3/4 pound uncooked skinless, boneless chicken breast, 2 cups chicken broth, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 1 can black beans (rinsed and drained), 1 chipotle chile (canned in adobo) finely minced, 1/8 cup onion (DH is not fond of cooked onion so you might want to up this), 1 minced clove garlic, 1/2 tablespoon fresh lim juice, 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin, salt and pepper to taste, 2/3 cup frozen corn (no need to thaw), 1/4 teaspoon dried cilantro, 1/4 diced avocado and 2 ounces cheddar cheese. Cook everything except the avocado and cheese, first on a boil then on simmer for 15-20 minutes. Add the avocado and simmer another 15-20 minutes until slightly thickened. Serve with cheese (and other goodies as desired). I have to agree with other reviewers: this recipe rates very high stars because it is so very versatile. You definitely need to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
The only thing I really liked about this recipe was the avocado. My husband wasn't impressed either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States