Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Very good. Gave 4 stars instead of 5 because I think it needs the addition of Beans & Corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I hate rating a recipe when I've done as many changes as I have with this one. But Doug's basic recipe is a winner as far as I'm concerned, with or without my changes. For four, I use 3/4 pound uncooked skinless, boneless chicken breast, 2 cups chicken broth, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 1 can black beans (rinsed and drained), 1 chipotle chile (canned in adobo) finely minced, 1/8 cup onion (DH is not fond of cooked onion so you might want to up this), 1 minced clove garlic, 1/2 tablespoon fresh lim juice, 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin, salt and pepper to taste, 2/3 cup frozen corn (no need to thaw), 1/4 teaspoon dried cilantro, 1/4 diced avocado and 2 ounces cheddar cheese. Cook everything except the avocado and cheese, first on a boil then on simmer for 15-20 minutes. Add the avocado and simmer another 15-20 minutes until slightly thickened. Serve with cheese (and other goodies as desired). I have to agree with other reviewers: this recipe rates very high stars because it is so very versatile. You definitely need to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
The only thing I really liked about this recipe was the avocado. My husband wasn't impressed either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
My family is not thrilled with turkey but we have it for Thanksgiving b/c the extended family likes it. What to do with the leftovers is often a challenge. This was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Good. I added strips of 4 corn tortillas and cooked for an additional 20 minutes. Didn't have avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
added 1 can corn, 1 can black beans. Cooked onions and garlic in 1 TBLS sundried tomato (with oil) until onions were nicely browned. Added more turkey and a dollup of light sour cream on top to serve
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was very tasty. I took the advice of other reviewers and added a can of black beans and some kernel corn. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. Added at least double of the garlic, cumin and cayenne, and then also added some chili powder and parsley. Had fresh cilantro so just put a bit in the soup and then garnished with cilantro, cheese, avocado, sour cream and tortilla chips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I also doctored this recipe up. I didn't add whole peeleed tomatoes, 2 roma tomatoes chopped or the avocado. I added pinto beans, 2 teaspoons chili powder and cumin and 1 teaspoon coriander. I also had 9 cups of broth. At the end I added the cilatro to the top. I also used turkey broth from the turkey carcass I had. I made the broth which made it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Awesome! Added black beans and corn. A another tsp of seasoning (chili pepper, paprika, cayenne). Cut out the cilantro and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Loved this recipe! I did change some things that others recommended. I added a can of black beans, 1 cup of corn, and I omitted the avocado. After making the soup, I topped the bowls with sour cream. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arosborne1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States