Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I give this five stars with the changes I made. I followed CookinMommy1's directions for the most part, though I forgot to add the cilantro and added the cheese and sour cream to individual portions. My son thought the tomato pieces were too big, so next time I will use petite diced tomatoes, I will also use a little less broth next time, as I thought it was a little watery. Maybe just 3 cups. I cooked it in the slow cooker for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I literally just made this and I am loving my first bowl! I make a similiar soup with chicken so I automatically tweaked this recipe to be like this chicken soup my famill loves. I love flavor so I sauteed the onion and garlic first until translucent and then added everything right on top. I used juice of a whole lime. At least a tablespoon of salt, some coarse black pepper and I added a can of black beans. I also added more cumin skipped the cilantro because I had none and I added at least an additional cup of turkey as I wanted to use as much leftover as I could. I left out the avocado all together for my husbands taste. I crushed a handful of tortilla chips into the bottom of the bowl and used pepper-jack cheese with last but not least a generous spoon of sour cream on top. Yum! Next time I plan to add some hominy and maybe some canned or frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
superb! such a nice change from classic "turkey frame soup". I used a dollop of sour cream rather than the monterey jack cheese and used chopped fresh cilantro - so much better than dried! This is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Wow! My entire family of four loved this soup. My girls are very picky eaters. My 4yr old gives us a problem eating her dinner nearly every night. She gobbled this down and even lifted her bowl to drink the soup at the bottom of her bowl. My oldest ate the onions and she knew they were in there. She NEVER eats onions. My husband and I made yummy sounds through it all and had seconds and thirds. What I did differently was that I used the turkey broth from Thanksgiving that I had frozen in the freezer instead of buying vegetable broth. I also used Goya Adobo seasoning (with pepper) instead of just salt and pepper. Ah, and I didn't have cayenne pepper so I used paprika instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Used 3 15oz cans tomatoes, 5 cloves garlic, minced. Sauteed onions and garlic in broth before adding to crockpot. Used chicken broth and juice of one whole lemon. Cooked in slow cooker on high for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was yummy! I used 48 oz can of chicken broth instead of veggie stock... As suggested by someone else, increased the lime juice and used the juice of the whole lime. I also threw in a can of drained corn and a can of cilantro lime Rotel. Somehow I was out of cilantro so substituted basil. Pepper jack cheese added a little more spice. Topped with a little sour cream... Mmmm do over for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very good! We enjoyed it, it's a great soup for using up Thanksgiving leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is a fabulous base recipe...like most of the other reviews, we added a can of black beans and used Rotel instead of plain tomatoes. Otherwise followed the recipe and it got rave reviews from everyone! No leftover turkey at this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was a great way to use up leftover turkey. It had a wonderfully refreshing flavor - not the same old turkey soup! My whole family loved it. Will definitely make this again. I did make a couple changes, however. I made my own stock from the leftover turkey bones, rather than using four cups of vegetable broth. I also added some black beans, celery, sliced olives and peppers for some more color a vegetables. But I kept all the seasonings and other flavors the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
substituted cayanne pepper ith an adobo pepper minced. Fabulously warm and yummy! Kids loved it paired with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States