Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I admit I did not make this as written. Sometimes you use a good beginning and make to your own tastes. I make it with Thanksgiving turkey and homemade turkey broth. I am not a big fan of cayenne pepper or avocados. I omitted them. I love cumin and tripled this. Then I added corn and black beans. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Yummy! The last of the turkey leftovers went into this soup. I did have to change it a bit using what I had on hand. I used Turkey stock instead of vegetable broth, no avocado, I didn't have whole peeled tomatoes so I used crushed, and I didn't really measure the spices just dumped them in and tasted. I also added black beans and some leftover corn. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Excellent! Followed the recipe but took several suggestions and added the corn and black beans. I didn't have an avocado but put sour cream on top along with cheese and it was great. Used spicey mexican corn and black beans which made it a bit snappy so we toned it down with elbow macaroni! This is on the 'make again' list for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Not a very hearty soup, but tasty all the same. Great if you're trying to be calorie conscious after eating too much at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Great soup!! i even added leftover can of pumpkin and cheese i mixed together to make raviolis. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nice, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France
Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Way 2 hot for normal people! 2 much spice. hated I wasted the time and energy and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Very good flavor. I didn't use canned green chills, instead I cut up one jalapeño pepper and it was very tasty with a lot of flavor. I also simmered longer to let the flavor mesh. Even better the next day when the flavors mixed longer. Next time I will added crispy tortilla chips onto and maybe a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Good way to use up leftover Thanksgiving turkey. Everyone enjoyed this at dinner last night. I sauteed the onion and garlic in olive oil prior to adding the remaining ingredients. Used the stewed tomatoes with celery/onion/garlic and omitted the additional fresh tomatoes since I was adding a can of black beans and a small can of corn. Left out the avocado and sour cream. Topped with Mexican blend cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Excellent... I added the black beans and corn and made a big old batch... Everyone in the family loved it, even my rather picky 17 year old. Going to have to make turkey more often just so we can have this soup! EXCELLENT ALL AROUND!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Really enjoyed this with leftover Thanksgiving turkey. After reading the other reviews I added cannelli beans, had left over butter beans and added a few, if I'd had leftover corn I would have added this too. The seasonings were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States