Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I gave this recipe 4 stars because I did not follow it exactly. I made a few changes, but it turned out great! It was a great way to use leftover turkey from Thanksgiving! I added 1 can of pinto beans, 1 can shoe peg corn. I sauteed the onion with 3 cloves of garlic in EVOO until tender, then I added the broth, beans, roma tomatoes, and corn. I used most of the canned whole tomatoes, but I pureed it before adding it to the soup. I added a little more than 1/2 tsp of cumin and I also added a little bit of chili powder to taste. I also used fresh cilantro as opposed to dried. I did not add the avocado. I served the soup with sour cream, shredded monterey jack and cheddar cheese, and tortilla chips to crumble on the top. I also made corn bread to serve with the soup. It was really yummy and it had quite a kick to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This recipie was so good! As other reviewers sugessted I added a can of black beans and a can of corn. Will make again and was a really good use of left over tukey from thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orient, Ohio, USA
Living In: Naha, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this tonight and want to say that everyone should make this as written! I did use fresh cilantro because I didn't have dried, and I love lots of cilantro, but other than that I followed the written recipe. It is great! It does not need corn or beans, but of course you can add them if you must, but the soup is very tasty and filling as it is. This is going to be a regular in my house. Even my picky son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Awesome and will make again!! I did add the can of black beans as others suggested. I also lessened the cayenne pepper and chilies but that is just a personal preference. Wonderful way to use up the left over turkey and not feel like I'm having another meal of turkey leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I make mine using the turkey carcass to make a stock. Much more flavorful than vegetable broth. I also use fresh chopped jalapeno peppers rather than canned. I sprinkle it with shredded cheddar cheese and tortillas cut into strips like noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
A lot of great reviews. I had no idea so many people were so creative and interested in good cooking. However, I agree with a previous reviewer. I would use the turkey carcass and bones to make the stock, and the turkey bits that come off the bones. Keep the rest the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This will be a day after Thanksgiving dish for a long time. It was great! I substituted the green chilies with jalapenos. It made it quite spicy (yum) and we topped it with cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkrek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Instead of vegetable broth and shreaded turkey I would cook down the turkey carcass and use what turkey you get off the bones and the broth as a base for the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
The photo looks like it has carrots and celery and those aren't mentioned in the recipe. I am going to add to it as in the comments. The soup is on the stove as a work in progress. The photo really should match the recipe, don't you thing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMATTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Just wonderful, added some black beans the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyous

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States