Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This is the best turkey soup I've ever made. I also added a bag of frozen white corn, and also used fresh cilantro.It was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2001
I used chicken instead of turkey and added corn and fresh cilantro and this soup was delicious. This soup is like the mexican version of gumbo - a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
Vegetarian friends have told me that they have been substituting corn & black beans for the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
WOW! This is perfect! A nice "kick" to leftover thanksgiving! I am not real fond of turkey soup... so this is a great change from the norm. Thanks! I didn't use avocado, but threw in a can of rinsed black beans! Served it with quasadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
Excellent recipe. I started w/ fresh turkey breast and veggie & chicken stock adding just some water for my liquid. Then I further modified it by adding 2 chopped green peppers, omiting the cilantro (because I was out) and cutting the corn off of three ears. It was fantastic! Great with a pan of cornbread! Worked great on helping me recover from my cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
I made this soup and my husband has not stopped talking about it since! He has told everyone how good it is! Try it with a dolop of sour cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Absolutely awesome! This is the best soup I think I've ever made. I made a few adjustments to the recipe to fit my taste, such as using 99% fat free ground turkey, and I cooked half an onion, garlic, ground cayenne pepper, diced green and yellow peppers together. I added this to the vegetable broth and added more garlic, another onion, a can of rinsed black beans and a can of drained white corn along with the spices and tomatoes and allowed it to stew an extra 10 or so minutes. I also halved the cilantro to 1/4 tsp. (only because my husband has a low tolerance for the taste of cilantro), and I served shredded pepper jack cheese over his bowl. As another reviewer suggested, I cut up a fresh fat free tortilla shell and topped the soup with it. This was magnificent! This is definitely a keeper, and I can't wait until the leftovers tomorrow night! I reserved the remainder of the can of vegetable broth (this recipe calls for approx. 2 1/3 cans) to add to leftovers to make it soupier. Try this one, folks. It's really out of this world! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This is absolutely the best recipe for leftover turkey! I too added a dallop of fat free sour cream and served with WOW tortilla chips. Just delicious! Thanks so mcuh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
This recipe gives great value for the ease of effort in preparation. It is flexible too! I left out the chiles, avocado, and monterrey, and added the corn and fresh cilantro. There isn't a member of my family who didn't ask for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This is awesome! The best turkey soup I have ever made. We added white corn to it. I dont know if I will ever go back to the traditional kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States