Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This really WAS an interesting solution for the pile of turkey in the fridge! I will admit here that I dislike turkey. Like SERIOUSLY DISKLIKE turkey. So it is imperative that it is hidden away in something non-Thanksgiving in appearance after the big day. I made the recipe pretty much as directed except I didn't have fresh tomatoes... so I skipped those. And I didn't have MJ cheese for topping @ the end, but I did have cheddar. But I DID have an avocado on hand. Weird, I know. I sauteed the onions & garlic in a TBSP of olive oil to get a fond going before adding all the liquids/other ingredients... chopped the turkey pretty fine & added about 1/2 a cup extra of (just because I'm desperate to make it go away). I let it cook down longer (because I forgot about it) so it was much thicker than I thought it would be. The flavor was GREAT... not "spicy"...but definitely had a kick... and made me forget it was turkey. BONUS! Put a little sour cream on it also... reminded me of chili soup of some sort. I would definitely make this again... with or without turkey... maybe left over chicken or beef roast. Nice that it had no rice, noodles, potatoes or beans... so had a wholesome veggie/lowish carb kind of quality about it. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I would have rated this at 4 stars without the toppings, but once the cheese (I used cheddar), tortilla chips, & I saved the avacado's & cilantro for toppings were added, it turned GOOD into GREAT! This will be my new Post-Thanksgiving Turkey Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very good with a few changes. Used 2 cups of turkey, added black beans and replaced the chiles with a fresh jalapeno. You can also add corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very flavorful soup! It was too hot for my family so I added 2tsp lemon juice to counteract the cayenne pepper. Also, I added the turkey last so I could strain the chunky veggies out with a slotted spoon after they cooked soft. Then I used my Braun wand mixer to puree them smooth before I added them back to the pot. Then added the turkey and the result was a consistency that was perfect for my picky crew! Thanks for a great way to use leftover turkey from Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
We LOVED it! Such a great healthy recipe. We made stock from the rest of the turkey, and it was so good. I left out the avocado. I think that tortilla chips with this would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie802

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I give this five stars with the changes I made. I followed CookinMommy1's directions for the most part, though I forgot to add the cilantro and added the cheese and sour cream to individual portions. My son thought the tomato pieces were too big, so next time I will use petite diced tomatoes, I will also use a little less broth next time, as I thought it was a little watery. Maybe just 3 cups. I cooked it in the slow cooker for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I literally just made this and I am loving my first bowl! I make a similiar soup with chicken so I automatically tweaked this recipe to be like this chicken soup my famill loves. I love flavor so I sauteed the onion and garlic first until translucent and then added everything right on top. I used juice of a whole lime. At least a tablespoon of salt, some coarse black pepper and I added a can of black beans. I also added more cumin skipped the cilantro because I had none and I added at least an additional cup of turkey as I wanted to use as much leftover as I could. I left out the avocado all together for my husbands taste. I crushed a handful of tortilla chips into the bottom of the bowl and used pepper-jack cheese with last but not least a generous spoon of sour cream on top. Yum! Next time I plan to add some hominy and maybe some canned or frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
superb! such a nice change from classic "turkey frame soup". I used a dollop of sour cream rather than the monterey jack cheese and used chopped fresh cilantro - so much better than dried! This is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Wow! My entire family of four loved this soup. My girls are very picky eaters. My 4yr old gives us a problem eating her dinner nearly every night. She gobbled this down and even lifted her bowl to drink the soup at the bottom of her bowl. My oldest ate the onions and she knew they were in there. She NEVER eats onions. My husband and I made yummy sounds through it all and had seconds and thirds. What I did differently was that I used the turkey broth from Thanksgiving that I had frozen in the freezer instead of buying vegetable broth. I also used Goya Adobo seasoning (with pepper) instead of just salt and pepper. Ah, and I didn't have cayenne pepper so I used paprika instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Used 3 15oz cans tomatoes, 5 cloves garlic, minced. Sauteed onions and garlic in broth before adding to crockpot. Used chicken broth and juice of one whole lemon. Cooked in slow cooker on high for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States