Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Awesome and will make again!! I did add the can of black beans as others suggested. I also lessened the cayenne pepper and chilies but that is just a personal preference. Wonderful way to use up the left over turkey and not feel like I'm having another meal of turkey leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I make mine using the turkey carcass to make a stock. Much more flavorful than vegetable broth. I also use fresh chopped jalapeno peppers rather than canned. I sprinkle it with shredded cheddar cheese and tortillas cut into strips like noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
A lot of great reviews. I had no idea so many people were so creative and interested in good cooking. However, I agree with a previous reviewer. I would use the turkey carcass and bones to make the stock, and the turkey bits that come off the bones. Keep the rest the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This will be a day after Thanksgiving dish for a long time. It was great! I substituted the green chilies with jalapenos. It made it quite spicy (yum) and we topped it with cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkrek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Instead of vegetable broth and shreaded turkey I would cook down the turkey carcass and use what turkey you get off the bones and the broth as a base for the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
The photo looks like it has carrots and celery and those aren't mentioned in the recipe. I am going to add to it as in the comments. The soup is on the stove as a work in progress. The photo really should match the recipe, don't you thing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMATTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Just wonderful, added some black beans the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyous

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
My husband loved this soup, and my 3yo & 5yo even ate this soup with no complaints. I did add a little zucchini and cabbage just for extra veggie content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made trukey broth from Thanksgiving leftovers, came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I did not like the peppers in the soup. I added cream corn which makes the soup rich and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States