Southwestern Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
The photo looks like it has carrots and celery and those aren't mentioned in the recipe. I am going to add to it as in the comments. The soup is on the stove as a work in progress. The photo really should match the recipe, don't you thing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMATTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Just wonderful, added some black beans the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyous

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
My husband loved this soup, and my 3yo & 5yo even ate this soup with no complaints. I did add a little zucchini and cabbage just for extra veggie content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made trukey broth from Thanksgiving leftovers, came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I did not like the peppers in the soup. I added cream corn which makes the soup rich and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is a good, modest soup to use up turkey leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
delicious way to completely make your left-overs fresh and new. We made it a tortilla soup by adding friend strips or tortilla with about 5 mins left in the cooking process, then topped our individual servings with Sour Cream. Overall the best thing about this recipe is that it doesn't taste at all like Thanksgiving food, so if you're tired of the same old turkey, try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Oh.My.Goodness. This was sooo good. I made a few changes, most inspired by the other reviews. I used turkey stock, 28 oz diced, seasoned tomatoes, 14 oz tomatoes w/ green chiles, 1 can each black beans and white corn. Onions and celery cooked in chicken stock (excess from T-day dressing). Skipped the fresh tomatoes, small can of chiles and cayenne. Doubled the cumin and added coriander and chili powder. It sounds like a lot of changes but I really just tweaked it to our preferences. I put the whole mess in the crockpot for a few hours and served over crushed tortilla chips to thicken and topped with sour cream, scallions and avocado. This one's absolutely a keeper and spicy-loving DH didn't think it needed any additional heat-it wasn't hot but had so much flavor it didn't need more kick to make it interesting. Next time I may add some sauteed sweet red peppers but I'd be happy making it the same way again. Five stars because I think the original would be just as good, just different and I don't ever follow any recipe exactly anyway. Thanks, Doug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Yummy! My "doesn't like spicy" son even ate it. I used a can of Rotel for the green chiles and used chicken broth. We barbeque our turkey with mesquite charcoal, so it has a nice smokey flavor to add to this soup. Will definitely be making this soup whenever I have leftover turkey. The cumin adds a necessary taste to this soup - don't skip it. I used ground chipotle instead of cayenne because that is what I keep on hand. As others have suggested, I chose to saute the onion and garlic before adding broth and tomatoes, even though I'm sure I would like the soup without doing that. I put the avocado into the bowls "raw" and poured the soup over - because one of us doesn't like avocado, and the other two love it. This is a definite keeper and already in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colin'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great recipe!!! Wonderful way to use that extra turkey giving it a completely different flavor from Thanksgiving. Did the recipe just as written except added a bit more turkey and a can of black beans. Put the avocado in the individual bowls as some don't like it. The crumbled tortilla chips, Mexican mix cheese and sour cream were perfect on top!! It was fabulous!!! One complaint, I should have doubled the recipe to have more left today =( Oh yea, and I had to use Italian tomatoes as that's all I had in the house and it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States