Southwestern Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
my cooking used to always be McDonalds, until I discovered this web site. This was the first meal I made - My husband is impressed! I can't take any credit though - this was delicious and I will make it again. next time I will cut less corn tortillas, 16 was to many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This is very good but too rich. Next time I will substitute a can of green enchilada sauce for the cream of mushroom soup and sour cream. I used the meat - about 3 cups - from two rotisserie chickens and it made for a very tasty dish. I also used more cheese than what is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
I used left over turkey that I had smoked. My husband and his friends loved it. I also added a can of corn to mixature. I would make again. I don't like turkey, but tasted it and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
I used a lot more turkey and cheese than called for and instead of using 2 cans of soup I used 1 10oz can of cream of mushroom/chicken soup and 10 oz of white corn and black bean salsa. It was yummy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
very quick and easy. feeds a lot of people easily. adding more turkey helps. yum yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I was a little confused as to what to do with the recipe. It wasn't quite clear whether the tortillas were supposed to be layered into the casserole. So, after reading the reviews of others I cut them into 1 inch pieces (for easier serving) and added them in the middle as well as on the bottom. I added 3 tbsps. of Trader Joe's Chipotle sauce to add a little zing AND used spicy Jack Cheese with the Cheddar Cheese. I probably used over 3 cups of chopped turkey. Kids and Dad ate it with salsa and went back for seconds. I will make it again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORA.V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This was a good way to use leftover turkey - but chicken would taste even better. I added a heaping teaspoon of chili powder and a sprinkle of seasoning salt to the soup mixture before assembling. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This was very easy to put together and tasted much better than I expected! Like some of the other reviewers, I added a layer of salsa and a 4 oz. can of jalapenos. It was too hot!! I would half the jalapenos! - but that was my fault. I also had some left over shredded cooked hash brown potatoes, so I threw them on top of everything. The potatoes were really good in it! I don't know if they would need to be pre-cooked or not, but I would definitely put the potatoes in next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
We love this recipe so much that we cooked a turkey just to have left-over meat for this recipe! I switch the corn for flour tortillas, and I chop them up into inch squares - it makes it easier to serve and eat. I also add about half of a medium onion chopped, and I am very generous with the cheese - I use a lot more than is called for. Also this recipe freezes very well - I usually make two 8x8" pans at once; we eat one and freeze one for later. When we are ready for this meal again, I simply pull out the frozen dish at noon and cook it in the evening for dinner. OUR FAVORITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I added salsa to the mixture and made filling layers with tortillas layed flat like the bottom. I topped it off with another layer of tortillas. On top of the tortillas, i put a thin layer of sour cream, salsa, and topped with more cheese about 15 minutes before coming out of the oven. I can't tell you how many people complimented me at the party I took it to. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States