Southwestern Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Using previous reviews, I made this recipe, plus added these changes: 1/2 can of each soup, 1 can Ro-Tel tomatoes with chiles, 3 C. turkey, 10 oz. cheese. Then I sauteed an onion and 2 chipotle chiles with 1 tsp adobo sauce. This recipe was very yummy, and a bit (just enough!) hot. Will make again. Lovin' it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: White Salmon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Very good but will modify next time by adding jalepenos. The green chilies weren't enough to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Great recipe for leftover turkey. Easy to make. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Will be a traditional after Thanksgiving dish in our family. Easy and tasty. Only change I made was to add some chunky salsa to the sour cream / soup mixture and use more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I really did make a ton of changes but this came out very tasty. I halved this recipe and used just one full can of cream of chicken soup. I sauted 6 or 7 mushrooms in a pan and added those to the layers of turkey and only used 4 chopped flour tortillas. I added some cumin to the soup and left out the peppers because I didn't have any, but this really did come out awesome. Really easy and really tasty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Easy, not great but satisfying. Oddly addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This was very tasty! I omitted the tortillas altogether to make a low-carb version and it was still delicious. Only other change I made was only using a 4 oz can of green chilies. It tasted just like chicken enchiladas in sour cream sauce. Thanks for the great recipe, Carrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEPOSITIVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I made so many changes to this recipe that I probably shouldn't rate it. First I used about 2-3 cups chopped turkey. I omitted the cream of mushroom soup and added one can of tomatoes with green chilies. Also added 1 tsp ground cumin and 1 tsp fajita seasoning and stirred the turkey, soup, chilies, tomatoes, sour cream, 1/3 cup chopped cilantro and spices together and let sit for about an hour in the refrigerator before assembling the casserole. I then layered it as directed. After baking I sprinkled with sliced green onions. I served this with salsa on the side as it wasn't spicy enough for my husband. We both liked it a lot after the changes. It's a really good and different way to use the leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is delicious! I followed other's suggestions and added a twist of my own... accidentally. I used flour tortillas because we're not crazy about the corn style, and tore into pieces rather than cutting into strips. I also added about 1-1/2 tsp. of chili powder to the soup mixture and didn't have green chili's, so used a can of Rotel, well drained. The recipe said to pour the soup mixture inside, but I reserved enough to lightly cover the top, after the turkey, then I layered with cheddar. The results are excellent... a nice kick without taking away the taste of the turkey. This has replaced our current "day after Thansgiving" favorite and I am sure will remain so for years to come. Thanks for sharing Carrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Very easy to prepare. It was very good...it tastes just like the enchiladas I make! I used some of my leftover turkey. I made two 8x8 pans and put one in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States