Southwestern Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This was great and my family LOVED it! I did make a few of the suggested changes. I cut down on the number of corn tortillas to about 10/12 and I put a VERY thin layer of the sauce under the tortillas to keep them moist. I only used the Cream of Mushroom Soup and left out the Cream of Chicken. I used light sour cream. I added a can of Ro-tel (spelling?) tomatoes with chilis, I used more cheese (1/2 of which was Pepper Jack and 1/2 Chedder) and I added a small can of HOT chilis to the mix. I also increased the turkey to about 2 cups. I layered sauce, tortillas, turkey cheese, sauce tortillas, turkey and cheese. WE LOVED THIS!! Great EASY meal and what a great way to use up leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Terrific!!! Well received by my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Using previous reviews, I made this recipe, plus added these changes: 1/2 can of each soup, 1 can Ro-Tel tomatoes with chiles, 3 C. turkey, 10 oz. cheese. Then I sauteed an onion and 2 chipotle chiles with 1 tsp adobo sauce. This recipe was very yummy, and a bit (just enough!) hot. Will make again. Lovin' it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: White Salmon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Very good but will modify next time by adding jalepenos. The green chilies weren't enough to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Great recipe for leftover turkey. Easy to make. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Will be a traditional after Thanksgiving dish in our family. Easy and tasty. Only change I made was to add some chunky salsa to the sour cream / soup mixture and use more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I really did make a ton of changes but this came out very tasty. I halved this recipe and used just one full can of cream of chicken soup. I sauted 6 or 7 mushrooms in a pan and added those to the layers of turkey and only used 4 chopped flour tortillas. I added some cumin to the soup and left out the peppers because I didn't have any, but this really did come out awesome. Really easy and really tasty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Easy, not great but satisfying. Oddly addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This was very tasty! I omitted the tortillas altogether to make a low-carb version and it was still delicious. Only other change I made was only using a 4 oz can of green chilies. It tasted just like chicken enchiladas in sour cream sauce. Thanks for the great recipe, Carrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEPOSITIVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I made so many changes to this recipe that I probably shouldn't rate it. First I used about 2-3 cups chopped turkey. I omitted the cream of mushroom soup and added one can of tomatoes with green chilies. Also added 1 tsp ground cumin and 1 tsp fajita seasoning and stirred the turkey, soup, chilies, tomatoes, sour cream, 1/3 cup chopped cilantro and spices together and let sit for about an hour in the refrigerator before assembling the casserole. I then layered it as directed. After baking I sprinkled with sliced green onions. I served this with salsa on the side as it wasn't spicy enough for my husband. We both liked it a lot after the changes. It's a really good and different way to use the leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States