Southwestern Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
very good. i make a similar tasting casserole using cream cheese and wrap the cream cheese, chicken (or turkey) green chilies in the tortillas and pour the sauce on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Wonderful taste! Everyone loved it. I add about 1/2 can of water to the sauce mixture. Also lined the pan with sauce before putting down the first layer of tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
My husband doesn't like really spicy stuff so I used a can of mild rotel instead of the chilies as other suggested. I also added black beans to the receipe. Very similar to a chicken receipe I have. I loved it and it was a great way to serve turkey when you've had enough sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
My very picky 8 y.o. said, "Make this for Dinner, lunch and breakfast, too!" I barely make any changes, this recipe is perfect as it is written First time I made it I could not find canned chiles so instead used canned green sauce. Wow! This is a great recipe. We make this with chicken when we don't have turkey available. Over the years (been making it for 5 years!!) we've changed it a bit, still stick to green sauce if we have it already on hand, otherwise opening a can of chilis work well. I saute a few tablespoons of onions in butter then mix in the turkey (or chicken) with it and give it a few shakes of chili powder and paprika. If it is around the holidays, the left over olives make a nice addition over the top. It can cook *gasp* in the microwave for 15 minutes and turn out just fine! A great recipe for left over turkey or chicken, half batches are super easy with the can of combo chicken/mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I made a lot of changes--used 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, 1 can Rotel, 1 can green chili's, 1 can rinsed and drained black beans, and 1 can corn (I would have used cream corn if I had it), 1 packet spicy taco mix and cumin along with the other ingredients. I mixed it all together and then layered the tortillas, the mix and cheese and baked--VERY YUMMY! I will make this again with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was an excellent way to use up the leftover turkey from Thanksgiving, and was different enough to make it irrelevant that we were on Day 3 of our leftovers. The dish was hearty and delicious, with the diced green chilies adding a nice tang. I'd substitute sharp cheddar for a little extra kick. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
We enjoyed this casserole. It was quite easy to put together. I did use about 3 cups of turkey and more cheese (didn't measure it). Instead of making strips with the corn tortillas, I just tore them into bite sized pieces and layered them. They tore very nicely. Will make again but probably will use chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was good, not great. I typically like my food spicier and more savory and this one was on the bland side of my tastes, but everyone else really liked it. I'm typically not a fan of Cream of Mushroom casseroles. Mostly because they're lazy and unimaginative for the most part (and loaded full of sodium). However, given that this one is for turkey leftovers, simple is what you want. After all, you just got done cooking a Thanksgiving feast. Things I might try next time: ground cumin, hotter peppers, chopped onion, and/or marinading the turkey before hand. Notes: You "leftover Thanksgiving turkey" will affect the taste of this recipe. If you fry, smoke, or roast your turkey it will result in three flavor variations on this recipe. The same is true if you baste and rub your turkeys with herbs, those flavors will carry over to this casserole (and not all of those flavors are Southwestern friendly). So, the further away from simple roast turkey your turkey is, the more "off" this recipe will taste. Three Stars: It is, after all, a Cream of Mushroom based casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gretna, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Very yummy. I followed previous advice and made two 8x8 dishes with this recipe. I didn't measure exactly, but I probably used more like 3 cups of chopped turkey and about 10-12 ounces of cheese. I made it with the diced tomotoes/green chilis (instead of cream of mushroom soup) and a bit of cumin mixed in. I only had flour tortillas, but I think corn would be better- they get less mushy. It took about 40 minutes in my oven. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I did an ingreident search with what I had on hand and this was the closest recipe (mine was made w/ chicken). I had to reduce the size by half because I only had 8 tortillas. Instead of opening two cans of soup(not knowing what I was going to do with two half full cans) I went with just cream of chicken soup. I added fresh cilantro to the soup mixture and made the dish in the morning. Reminded me of a mexican lasagna...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States