Southwestern Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
We really enjoyed this casserole. I made a change based on other reviews and also what I had on hand. As the sauce, I used 1 can cream of chicken, 1 can enchilada sauce and 1 c sour cream I added a shake or two of cumin & chili powder. I layered as follows: * a tiny bit of sauce to prevent sticking * a layer of tortillas * a layer of southwestern veggies, from the freezer, rinsed to thaw * a layer of torillas * a smearing of sauce * the leftover turkey, cut into chunks * a layer of tortillas * topped it all with shredded cheddar and a little more chili powder for color This worked for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
tasty and easy. I have a simpler version: Mix all ingredients except tortillas & cheese. In lightly greased pan, layer tortilla strips, mixture and cheese. repeat. If you can eat mild jalapenos, then you will enjoy this casserole comfortably. Do not overcook as cheese/tortillas will get chewey. Can sub turkey w/ cooked chicken, pork, fajita meat, gound beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was a big hit for a christmas party. I made three modifications - I used a smoked turkey breast (de-boned), added black beans and rotel tomatos. Lots of requests for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years with leftover turkey. I got this recipe out of our local newspaper. It's easy and uses up that left over turkey. For those that gave it bad reviews, they just didn't make it right or don't like casseroles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJROBB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Creek, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was incredible. What a great tasting casserole. My husband went back for seconds and thirds. My kids all loved it and even the cat, who loves Mexican food loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNETTE1124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
My husband gave this a four, but I would give it a 2.5, so I split it and gave it a 3. I added more turkey, a can of Rotel, black beans and corn. It wasn't bad, it just wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Awesome turkey leftover meal, everyone liked it!!! Only change I made was using flour tortillas instead of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was a great recipe to get me going on a spicier version. Well, I am also using up stuff in the cupboards :) I had 1 can cream of celery in place of the mushroom. Added 1 can diced water chestnuts. Instead of greeen chili peppers, I had a can of diced tomatoes w/some green chili peppers in them. So I drained off 1/2 of the 14.5 oz. can and put them into the sour cream mixture. No corn tortillas either, so I Pam-sprayed my 4 flour tortillas and toasted them in the oven awhile. Then when cooled, I tore them apart to put into the bottom of my glass baking dish. Then I put half the soup/cream mixture over them. Then about 1 1/2 cups chopped cooked turkey, then rest of soup. Cheddar cheese on top, and baked it covered till nearly done. Then took off foil and added crushed JALEPNO kettle-chips on top and baked till those got a little toasty. Soooo excellent and you don't even notice that you are eating TURKEY AGAIN!!! LOL. Enjoy it all you spice lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I used some taco seasoning and ground turkey and added a can of black beans. Kids loved it. Made it the day before and it kept well overnight in the fridge. Easy and tasty. Will def make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I used healthy request cream of chicken and cream of celery soups, fiesta blend of shredded cheese, and served it with hot picante sauce. Got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States