Southwestern Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This was a good way to use leftover turkey - but chicken would taste even better. I added a heaping teaspoon of chili powder and a sprinkle of seasoning salt to the soup mixture before assembling. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This was very easy to put together and tasted much better than I expected! Like some of the other reviewers, I added a layer of salsa and a 4 oz. can of jalapenos. It was too hot!! I would half the jalapenos! - but that was my fault. I also had some left over shredded cooked hash brown potatoes, so I threw them on top of everything. The potatoes were really good in it! I don't know if they would need to be pre-cooked or not, but I would definitely put the potatoes in next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
We love this recipe so much that we cooked a turkey just to have left-over meat for this recipe! I switch the corn for flour tortillas, and I chop them up into inch squares - it makes it easier to serve and eat. I also add about half of a medium onion chopped, and I am very generous with the cheese - I use a lot more than is called for. Also this recipe freezes very well - I usually make two 8x8" pans at once; we eat one and freeze one for later. When we are ready for this meal again, I simply pull out the frozen dish at noon and cook it in the evening for dinner. OUR FAVORITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I added salsa to the mixture and made filling layers with tortillas layed flat like the bottom. I topped it off with another layer of tortillas. On top of the tortillas, i put a thin layer of sour cream, salsa, and topped with more cheese about 15 minutes before coming out of the oven. I can't tell you how many people complimented me at the party I took it to. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
A friend used to make this and when I lost touch with her I lost the recipe. I used a 10oz can of chicken, some shredded pepper jack in addition to the cheddar and left out the chilies. It was excellent!!! I'm so happy to have this dish again and I plan to make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
My family really liked this recipe. I substituted flour tortillas, and it was just wonderful with the leftover turkey we had. It would be good with chickent, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
I did what another reviewer said to do and put in jalapenos but I put in 4 oz. along with 4 oz. of green chilies. Needless to say, it was peppy. I would probably cut back on the jalapenos but not leave them out. Otherwise, I used corn tortillas and both cans of soup since I had to use a 9x13 pan. Are there 8x12's? It turned out fantastic. My husband had two helpings. So did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
This is very similar to a recipe I make with ground beef, tomato soup, and salsa. I combined the ingredients (minus one can of soup)in a large skillet including the tortillas that I chopped into 1" squares. Put it all in a baking dish, topped with cheese and baked 20 min. My family likes this and I like that it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
We really enjoyed this recipe. I didn't have turkey leftovers so used a box of the precooked diced chicken and substituted flour tortillas. We are big meat eaters and feel the recipe could double the amount called for. It was also quite saucy. Next time I will mix half the sauce with the chicken and make enchiladas. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Last year my fiance made this several hours before baking. This year I made it immediately before baking. I also used a 4 oz can of jalapenos instead of chilies for more kick. The texture of the tortillas is better if you let the sauce soak in for a while before baking. Makes turkey leftovers taste not so leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Schmelzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States