Southwestern Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
Wonderful way to use leftover turkey. I added some garlic and cumin, but my husband requested chopped onion and jalapenos or Tabasco to make it a little hotter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This was good, but I only used one layer of tortilla strips, and I found it a little too liquid. Where the strips were doubled up I preferred the texture, but the tortillas did stay a bit dry. I like the idea of letting it sit overnight and then cooking it at dinner time. I bet it would be excellent with tortilla chips kinda crushed up in place of the plain corn tortillas. I also added a 4oz can of diced jalapenos for a little more of a kick. Flavor was great! You just can't beat sour cream and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This was pretty good. I substituted the corn tortillas with flour tortillas and would suggest adding jalapeno jack cheese instead of cheddar for some zip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Four of us had it and we all adored it, though these four never agree on anything foodwise! Good sign! It was just enough and was delicious. As with most recipes, I think adding more veggies would make it even better, but it was absolutely AWESOME as it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
One of our (my wife & I)favorite recipes. Easy to prepare, and simply delicious, we have made it a traditional day-after-Thankgiving meal. Works well with dark or light meat. Sometimes we give it a little "kick" with some chili peppers. Also have tried with different seasoning combos...cumin, paprika, curry powder, as well as cilantro, and other herbs really work nice with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
My family really liked this recipe and we are not a family that generally eats casseroles. It had great flavor. One of my kids that likes really hot food and hot sauce to his. I would definite make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
Next time I'll eliminate the bottom layer of tortillas. I'll also add cumin. EASY which is always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
This was a tasty casserole but the tortillas didn't soften up all the way. It was perfect as leftovers. I would probably cut down on the amount of tortilla and bake it a little longer. Maybe even assemble it early and have it in the fridge ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
I was given this recipe by a friend. For the 3 of us I cut it in half. I use half as much milk as the soups and add cumin. Let it sit 5 mins before serving - this firms it up perfectly. My family adores it. I gave it 4 stars because afterall it is a casserole and I'm being snobby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
I used sliced mushrooms & tomato sauce instead of condensed cream mushrooms.Mixed monterey jack cheese with the chedder cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States