Southwestern Style Fifteen Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Changed it a bit, but thank-you so much for letting me know that I COULD cook beans in the crock-pot with-out soaking 8 hours or having to use a stove ( which I don't have presently) to pre-cook them first. Turned Out GREAT !!!!Thanks again !!!!! Is permantly in my recipe box !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARYL4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
the best bean soiup ever! I substituted turkey polish sausage for the bacon for a lower fat version, and it turned out wonderfully! A hearty but healthy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
We loved this recipe. I used ham rather than bacon and bell pepper rather than chilis. It was great. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbern, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kewanee, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
YUM! I know this passed the test when my hesitant husband completely polished off his bowl and went back for more. I didn't have any bacon, but I DID have some smoked sausage, made the switch, and it was great. I didn't cook the beans overnight, I just soaked them. Really easy and an awesome "cold weather meal" (words of the aforementioned hubby.) This will make an appearance on my dinner table again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
easy to make and tastes great! Does it get any easier?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I make this recipe all the time. I add more chopped chicken and or sausage and less than a pound of the bacon the recipe calls for. Its a favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Moser Mcilroy
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
The only thing I changed was to add a can of stewed tomatoes per the package instructions. I also purchased a mix that included a cajun seasoning packet, so I added that as well. I used a pound of center cut ham - diced it up and left the bone in the soup to add more smokey ham flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENTIBUR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was great! I swapped out the bacon for kielbasa and it was awesome. I took it to our church Christmas pot luck and it was gone. I will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I made this and brought to a potluck for my church. Went over really well. I used chili flakes, cumin and oregano instead of chill powder and less bacon than what was called for. I also used green chili sauce instead of just the green chili peppers. Goes really well with some corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Sluser

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I thought this was really good (wishing I had made corn bread right about now)! I used the quick-cook method (boiled beans for 1 hour then added rest of the ingredients & let simmer for 30 min). I added 1 lb cooked peppered bacon, some smoked sausage, and cumin. I was surprised that I needed to add salt - maybe I drained the bacon too much! This is nice & spicy... I think I might try adding some BBQ sauce or a little brown sugar to some of my leftovers just for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Bowman

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States