Southwestern Style Fifteen Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
Terri, Your recipe calls for one pound of bacon but doesn't say what to do with it!! Can you clear this up for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was great! I swapped out the bacon for kielbasa and it was awesome. I took it to our church Christmas pot luck and it was gone. I will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
The only thing I changed was to add a can of stewed tomatoes per the package instructions. I also purchased a mix that included a cajun seasoning packet, so I added that as well. I used a pound of center cut ham - diced it up and left the bone in the soup to add more smokey ham flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENTIBUR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
YUM! I know this passed the test when my hesitant husband completely polished off his bowl and went back for more. I didn't have any bacon, but I DID have some smoked sausage, made the switch, and it was great. I didn't cook the beans overnight, I just soaked them. Really easy and an awesome "cold weather meal" (words of the aforementioned hubby.) This will make an appearance on my dinner table again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Changed it a bit, but thank-you so much for letting me know that I COULD cook beans in the crock-pot with-out soaking 8 hours or having to use a stove ( which I don't have presently) to pre-cook them first. Turned Out GREAT !!!!Thanks again !!!!! Is permantly in my recipe box !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARYL4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Very smokey flavor; a little too much bacon though; the soup would taste good even without the bacon, or with just a few slices in it. Make sure you like a lot of spice with this recipe; you could tone the chili powder down a bit. Overall, very tasty and I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I make this recipe all the time. I add more chopped chicken and or sausage and less than a pound of the bacon the recipe calls for. Its a favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Moser Mcilroy
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
easy to make and tastes great! Does it get any easier?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I thought this was really good (wishing I had made corn bread right about now)! I used the quick-cook method (boiled beans for 1 hour then added rest of the ingredients & let simmer for 30 min). I added 1 lb cooked peppered bacon, some smoked sausage, and cumin. I was surprised that I needed to add salt - maybe I drained the bacon too much! This is nice & spicy... I think I might try adding some BBQ sauce or a little brown sugar to some of my leftovers just for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Bowman
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Something is definitely wrong with the directions on this recipe. I have a new 6 qt. crockpot and I decided to use this recipe due to all the "rave" reviews. I put my beans to cook overnight on low setting, following the recipe directions, went to bed. Woke up 5-1/2 hours later, smelling beans. Decided to get up and check them. Good thing, they were more than tender. Had to stop the cooking process, put the crock portion into the fridge, add the remaining ingredients and finish cooking this morning. You can bet I won't cook them for any 8 hours more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States