Southwestern Style Fifteen Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Good recipe, but I also made some additions/changes. I added a can of diced tomatoes as a previous reviewer mentioned. I also added a pint of home canned mixed peppers as I didn't have green chilies on hand. I added 2 TBSP low sodium Cajun seasoning, substituted one pound smoked sausage for the bacon, added about 1 1/2 cups torn chicken, and doubled the garlic. (We like things spicy ;). ) I soaked the beans overnight and did the rest on the stove. Thanks for a nutrition-packed meal, terrielyn! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I made this and brought to a potluck for my church. Went over really well. I used chili flakes, cumin and oregano instead of chill powder and less bacon than what was called for. I also used green chili sauce instead of just the green chili peppers. Goes really well with some corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Sluser

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight and no one cared for it. I know it's not a repeat when my husband requests a PBJ for lunch instead of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I thought this was really good (wishing I had made corn bread right about now)! I used the quick-cook method (boiled beans for 1 hour then added rest of the ingredients & let simmer for 30 min). I added 1 lb cooked peppered bacon, some smoked sausage, and cumin. I was surprised that I needed to add salt - maybe I drained the bacon too much! This is nice & spicy... I think I might try adding some BBQ sauce or a little brown sugar to some of my leftovers just for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Bowman
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
YUM! I know this passed the test when my hesitant husband completely polished off his bowl and went back for more. I didn't have any bacon, but I DID have some smoked sausage, made the switch, and it was great. I didn't cook the beans overnight, I just soaked them. Really easy and an awesome "cold weather meal" (words of the aforementioned hubby.) This will make an appearance on my dinner table again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
the best bean soiup ever! I substituted turkey polish sausage for the bacon for a lower fat version, and it turned out wonderfully! A hearty but healthy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
We loved this recipe. I used ham rather than bacon and bell pepper rather than chilis. It was great. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbern, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kewanee, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This recipe was very easy and smelled divine. I rated this three stars because no one in my household liked it. I was the only one who ate it & I thought it was pretty good. It does make a lot so prepare to freeze some or feed a big crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Not that great. I was generous with the 3 stars, but since i did deviate a little I thought that would be fair. I used chicken stock instead of water, only about 6 slices of bacon (precooked), added about a half of a cooked chicken and added a can of RoTel tomatoes. It was just O.K. It had a different flavor that is hard to describe, somewhat earthy I would say. My husband wouldn't eat it, but I thought it was O.K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States