Southwestern Sausage Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alexandra
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Made this for breakfast this morning and really good! I made a few adjustments. I had red and green peppers to use in the fridge, so I added that. I also just dropped a spoonful in two muffin tins. They were larger than the balls in the recipe so cook for about 18 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made this recipe exact, only using regular ground breakfast sausage as I could not find the zesty. My husband and two kids thought that the tomatoes weren't very good in this biscuit and that there was a little too much green onion. I went to clean up after breakfast and on my littlest's plate, there were two piles of green onions and tomatoes. This was a quick breakfast biscuit and a really good idea, but IF I make this again, I'll cut out the tomatoes and cut back on the onions. It just wasn't a hit with us, I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made a batch for my co-workers. They didn't last 20mins!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I brought it to the church. Everyone looooved it! People asked me the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I really wanted to make these for my husband & son. I didn't have all the ingredients, so I did have to change it up a little. And it still turned out really good. This is definitely a "guys" biscuit! Right out of the oven, these are warm, hearty & delicious! I didn't have any green onions so we did w/out. I didn't have diced tomatoes, but I did have crushed & I just used a little less. I didn't have the zesty hot sausage, so I just used a little red pepper flakes & extra cayenne pepper. I can't say it enough, my son loves these biscuits & I don't think you could go wrong if you made these for teenagers. I cant say that I didn't like them, b/c they are good (its like a whole meal in itself) :). But I would probably go a little less hearty! Still.. great recipe though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I made this for a Southwestern dinner for the family and it was a hit! Based on other's reviews, I used Rotel tomatoes with green chilis and white onion in place of the green onions. It was a great side dish that I will definitely be using again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
These were so good. i didnt have package of ground sauage just links. It was so good. i took off the skin of the links. Cut them into pieces. YUMMY!! When you first bite into these fresh and warm. You get the moist burst from the tomato. So Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I did not care for this. I think the sausage was spoiled even though the date indicated it was okay, maybe this is how Bob Evans meant for it to tatse. I might try this again with some quality sausage like Neese's or something similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eleventhkid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Followed recipe exactly and made two batches, took to church for Easter breakfast. They were a big hit, many people asked for recipe. The only thing, if it is a drop biscuit why would you try to shape dough into a 2 inch ball? I just used a tablespoon and dropped onto baking sheet. Perfect biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
We love these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tat2dGirl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States