Southwestern Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Good basic recipe. I didn't have frozen corn or chicken stock, so I substituted canned sweet corn and replaced the chicken stock with 1 vegetable bouillion with 2 cups of water. I also doubled the amount of cumin listed and added 1 tsp of Chipolte Chile powder, 1/2 tsp ground black pepper and a dash of salt. Served with blue corn chips. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by docswife
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Nice change from Spanish rice. Great flavor. Kids even liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Excellent. I added chicken and it was a total meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I used a can of rotel and it really added some spice and made it wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This dish is good, but I like a little more flavor. Next time I will use more of the spices. Perhaps double? I think this would also be very tasty with some fresh, chopped cilantro (I didn't have any on hand). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Super simple. Super yummy! I did add 1 lb ground beef to make it a full meal for my meat-eaters, and used instant rice (used the stock in an amount=to what the box of rice said). Flavor was great. Served with tortilla chips and topped with shredded cheese. Family ate it like a dip. Even the picky 5yo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
WOW! I love this stuff!! I made a few small changes, nothing major. I wanted to use the tumeric but couldn't even find it in the grocery store, don't know how much of a difference it would've made. I used canned corn instead of frozen, used 1.5 cups minute rice, added a couple chopped fresh tomatoes, and sprinkled it all with juice from one lime at the end. I served it with some grated cheese and sour cream. I had some leftover chicken breasts I chopped up and added to it, SO good! (Try marinating chicken in Paul Newman's Lime Vinaigrette dressing, cilantro, and garlic and grilling..yum.) I will make this on a regular basis!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
So good! I didn't even add the last step, just onions, peppers, rice and chicken broth and it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I made this as a side dish for my parents. I haven't tasted it, but the parents gave high ratings. I skipped the turmeric because I didn't have any but followed the rest of the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I made this as a main summer dish with the addition of shredded chicken and substitution of brown rice and my favorite salsa (combo of medium and hot) instead of the tomatoes called for in the recipe. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELAMCKEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States