Southwestern Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I have made this 3 times as a main dish for my vegetarian daughter -- it is delicious and works for the meat lovers as well. I do tweak it just a bit for out tastes and more protein: I saute the dry rice with the onion, pepper and garlic; I add an additional can of black beans, for the liquid - 2 c water plus a veggie bouillon cube, double the cumin and turmeric, add 1/4 tsp cayenne and 1/2 tsp chili powder, and use a can of corn instead of frozen. Once done, I stir in about 1/2 cup cheese. We like this as is, or wrapped in a flour tortilla with extra cheese, burrito or soft taco style. Very forgiving recipe and it is great every time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This dish is good, but I like a little more flavor. Next time I will use more of the spices. Perhaps double? I think this would also be very tasty with some fresh, chopped cilantro (I didn't have any on hand). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Good! I did use brown rice instead. I also felt the flavor was a bit lacking, so I added some lime juice and cilantro before serving. Tasty! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Loved the flavours and combination of textures in this dish. Next time I think I would add the tomatoes at the same time as the stock, as the dish turned out slightly watery for me. Was a great accompaniment to baked chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is a very good recipe. The only thing I changed was I added about 1/2 cup of sour cream and a cup of mont. jack cheese once it was done. I stirred it through and served it. It gave it a little more zing. All in all though, the recipe was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I did not change a thing to your recipe other than using brown rice and "HOT" Rotel tomatoes with green chilies. Great dish. Also great on a wrap. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
So good! I double the recipe. I first had the oill, added onions, garlic, green peppers and the rice. Let it cook for a couple of minutes and only then added the spices, a little extra actually and added salt. I believe that made the taste stand out so much more. I used a can of zesty corn medley even though I had frozen corn. It was spicy but tasty. Beautiful colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I used this as a jumping off point because I didn't have all of the ingredients. I didn't have the corn or black beans so I used roasted corn and black bean salsa instead. I also used instant brown rice and added some frozen mixed veggies while I was saute-ing the onion, pepper, and garlic. This went quite well with the tacos I whipped up. Plus my version has veggies and dietary fiber to boot. ;p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I used a can of rotel and it really added some spice and made it wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I added a bit of shredded cheese, sour cream, and a touch of crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States