Southwestern Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I have made this 3 times as a main dish for my vegetarian daughter -- it is delicious and works for the meat lovers as well. I do tweak it just a bit for out tastes and more protein: I saute the dry rice with the onion, pepper and garlic; I add an additional can of black beans, for the liquid - 2 c water plus a veggie bouillon cube, double the cumin and turmeric, add 1/4 tsp cayenne and 1/2 tsp chili powder, and use a can of corn instead of frozen. Once done, I stir in about 1/2 cup cheese. We like this as is, or wrapped in a flour tortilla with extra cheese, burrito or soft taco style. Very forgiving recipe and it is great every time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This dish is good, but I like a little more flavor. Next time I will use more of the spices. Perhaps double? I think this would also be very tasty with some fresh, chopped cilantro (I didn't have any on hand). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Good! I did use brown rice instead. I also felt the flavor was a bit lacking, so I added some lime juice and cilantro before serving. Tasty! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Loved the flavours and combination of textures in this dish. Next time I think I would add the tomatoes at the same time as the stock, as the dish turned out slightly watery for me. Was a great accompaniment to baked chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is a very good recipe. The only thing I changed was I added about 1/2 cup of sour cream and a cup of mont. jack cheese once it was done. I stirred it through and served it. It gave it a little more zing. All in all though, the recipe was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I did not change a thing to your recipe other than using brown rice and "HOT" Rotel tomatoes with green chilies. Great dish. Also great on a wrap. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
So good! I double the recipe. I first had the oill, added onions, garlic, green peppers and the rice. Let it cook for a couple of minutes and only then added the spices, a little extra actually and added salt. I believe that made the taste stand out so much more. I used a can of zesty corn medley even though I had frozen corn. It was spicy but tasty. Beautiful colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I used this as a jumping off point because I didn't have all of the ingredients. I didn't have the corn or black beans so I used roasted corn and black bean salsa instead. I also used instant brown rice and added some frozen mixed veggies while I was saute-ing the onion, pepper, and garlic. This went quite well with the tacos I whipped up. Plus my version has veggies and dietary fiber to boot. ;p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I used a can of rotel and it really added some spice and made it wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I added a bit of shredded cheese, sour cream, and a touch of crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States