Southwestern Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Great the next day for lunch in a wrap with some chicken & cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by speck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
It didn't WOW me. It wasn't bad, but I wouldn't say it was great. I didn't have any tumeric, so maybe that would've made a difference, I dunno. Easy enough to make, nice side dish to a mexican themed meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This was really good. In place of green bell peppers, I used green "holy mole" peppers from my garden. There is not nearly enough liquid to cook the rice - and certainly not in 15 minutes. I had to add an extra cup of water on top of the strained off tomato juice. I also had to cover the pan, and boil the rice 30 minutes. I served this with the Mexican Style Meatballs from this site. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Mexican-Style-Meatballs/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I "created" this side dish out of items in my pantry last night to go with some soft tacos and didn't see this version until today. Obviously, it is slightly different: I used 3/4 cup of white rice which I sauted only 4 minutes with the onions and peppers before adding 1 1/2 cups of water (with a chicken boullion cube) and boiled for 20 minutes. For the seasonings I added 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper and 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder. After 20 minutes I added the beans, (canned) corn, and a can of Rotel and cooked for a few minutes over low heat. This is a wonderful sidedish that can be modified based on whatever you have around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
So good! I didn't even add the last step, just onions, peppers, rice and chicken broth and it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
WOW! I love this stuff!! I made a few small changes, nothing major. I wanted to use the tumeric but couldn't even find it in the grocery store, don't know how much of a difference it would've made. I used canned corn instead of frozen, used 1.5 cups minute rice, added a couple chopped fresh tomatoes, and sprinkled it all with juice from one lime at the end. I served it with some grated cheese and sour cream. I had some leftover chicken breasts I chopped up and added to it, SO good! (Try marinating chicken in Paul Newman's Lime Vinaigrette dressing, cilantro, and garlic and grilling..yum.) I will make this on a regular basis!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I used this as a jumping off point because I didn't have all of the ingredients. I didn't have the corn or black beans so I used roasted corn and black bean salsa instead. I also used instant brown rice and added some frozen mixed veggies while I was saute-ing the onion, pepper, and garlic. This went quite well with the tacos I whipped up. Plus my version has veggies and dietary fiber to boot. ;p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Super simple. Super yummy! I did add 1 lb ground beef to make it a full meal for my meat-eaters, and used instant rice (used the stock in an amount=to what the box of rice said). Flavor was great. Served with tortilla chips and topped with shredded cheese. Family ate it like a dip. Even the picky 5yo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by docswife
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Nice change from Spanish rice. Great flavor. Kids even liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Good basic recipe. I didn't have frozen corn or chicken stock, so I substituted canned sweet corn and replaced the chicken stock with 1 vegetable bouillion with 2 cups of water. I also doubled the amount of cumin listed and added 1 tsp of Chipolte Chile powder, 1/2 tsp ground black pepper and a dash of salt. Served with blue corn chips. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States