Southwestern Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Great the next day for lunch in a wrap with some chicken & cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by speck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
It didn't WOW me. It wasn't bad, but I wouldn't say it was great. I didn't have any tumeric, so maybe that would've made a difference, I dunno. Easy enough to make, nice side dish to a mexican themed meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This was really good. In place of green bell peppers, I used green "holy mole" peppers from my garden. There is not nearly enough liquid to cook the rice - and certainly not in 15 minutes. I had to add an extra cup of water on top of the strained off tomato juice. I also had to cover the pan, and boil the rice 30 minutes. I served this with the Mexican Style Meatballs from this site. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Mexican-Style-Meatballs/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I "created" this side dish out of items in my pantry last night to go with some soft tacos and didn't see this version until today. Obviously, it is slightly different: I used 3/4 cup of white rice which I sauted only 4 minutes with the onions and peppers before adding 1 1/2 cups of water (with a chicken boullion cube) and boiled for 20 minutes. For the seasonings I added 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper and 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder. After 20 minutes I added the beans, (canned) corn, and a can of Rotel and cooked for a few minutes over low heat. This is a wonderful sidedish that can be modified based on whatever you have around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
So good! I didn't even add the last step, just onions, peppers, rice and chicken broth and it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
WOW! I love this stuff!! I made a few small changes, nothing major. I wanted to use the tumeric but couldn't even find it in the grocery store, don't know how much of a difference it would've made. I used canned corn instead of frozen, used 1.5 cups minute rice, added a couple chopped fresh tomatoes, and sprinkled it all with juice from one lime at the end. I served it with some grated cheese and sour cream. I had some leftover chicken breasts I chopped up and added to it, SO good! (Try marinating chicken in Paul Newman's Lime Vinaigrette dressing, cilantro, and garlic and grilling..yum.) I will make this on a regular basis!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I used this as a jumping off point because I didn't have all of the ingredients. I didn't have the corn or black beans so I used roasted corn and black bean salsa instead. I also used instant brown rice and added some frozen mixed veggies while I was saute-ing the onion, pepper, and garlic. This went quite well with the tacos I whipped up. Plus my version has veggies and dietary fiber to boot. ;p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Super simple. Super yummy! I did add 1 lb ground beef to make it a full meal for my meat-eaters, and used instant rice (used the stock in an amount=to what the box of rice said). Flavor was great. Served with tortilla chips and topped with shredded cheese. Family ate it like a dip. Even the picky 5yo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by docswife
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Nice change from Spanish rice. Great flavor. Kids even liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Good basic recipe. I didn't have frozen corn or chicken stock, so I substituted canned sweet corn and replaced the chicken stock with 1 vegetable bouillion with 2 cups of water. I also doubled the amount of cumin listed and added 1 tsp of Chipolte Chile powder, 1/2 tsp ground black pepper and a dash of salt. Served with blue corn chips. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States