Southwestern Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was really tasty! I didn't have onion or bellpepper but it was still very good. I used quinoa instead of rice to add some better nutrition. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
My husband and I loved this. I didn't have any turmeric. Aside from that, I prepared it by the recipe. I definitely plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kolene_Kaffeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I added chicken also for a main dish. Simple and delicious! I didn't have all the ingrediants, but just mixed instant brown rice, corn (steam bag kind mixed with green and red peppers already), half can of black beans, and half can of zesty diced tomatoes. Garlic, and cumin to seasonYum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanBean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Good! I did use brown rice instead. I also felt the flavor was a bit lacking, so I added some lime juice and cilantro before serving. Tasty! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I have made this 3 times as a main dish for my vegetarian daughter -- it is delicious and works for the meat lovers as well. I do tweak it just a bit for out tastes and more protein: I saute the dry rice with the onion, pepper and garlic; I add an additional can of black beans, for the liquid - 2 c water plus a veggie bouillon cube, double the cumin and turmeric, add 1/4 tsp cayenne and 1/2 tsp chili powder, and use a can of corn instead of frozen. Once done, I stir in about 1/2 cup cheese. We like this as is, or wrapped in a flour tortilla with extra cheese, burrito or soft taco style. Very forgiving recipe and it is great every time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Tim Bailey
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very good. I added a little bit of wild rice, and diced fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
My friends are still talking about this rice recipe that I prepared for them. Must serve with any southwestern dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I was looking to use so already cooked rice. This recipe worked out great for this. I reduced the amount of broth, and added some chili powder for kick. Oh, and I accidently used Vegetable broth. But it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Great tasting rice! The combination of ingredients is fantastic including the cumin, turmeric, which added the lovely yellow color to the rice, and the black beans! I served it with the anniversary chicken and honey glazed carrots along with a bottle of Chardonnay. Great combination, great meal, great rice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is a very good recipe. The only thing I changed was I added about 1/2 cup of sour cream and a cup of mont. jack cheese once it was done. I stirred it through and served it. It gave it a little more zing. All in all though, the recipe was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States