Southwestern Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Loved the flavours and combination of textures in this dish. Next time I think I would add the tomatoes at the same time as the stock, as the dish turned out slightly watery for me. Was a great accompaniment to baked chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
My boyfriend and I made this tonight with the Shredded Chicken Tacos also from this website. We accidentally used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes with green chiles and jalapenos... We also used a 10 oz can of Mexicorn instead of frozen corn, and we doubled the turmeric. It was a bit spicy but really good! I thought it was too spicy at first but then couldn't stop eating it =) ... Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I thought this was just ok. It really lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was super duper yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Quick, healthy, low fat, and YUMMY!! I doubled the cumin & tumeric and added creole seasoning per other suggestions. Used pinto beans as I didn't have black. Will be making often, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knob Noster, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
What great flavor! I didn't have green peppers, but added some monteray jack cheese. Also added a lot more cumin. Cooked with brown rice. Thanks for the great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Very good, I added Cilantro to this, which gave it a nice fresh taste. I made this with "Chile-Garlic Shrimp" from Allrecipes, and tortillas on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
great dish! i made it with spicy garlic lime chicken, and everyone loved it. I put about twice as much cumin and turmeric as it says here, as well as some Cayenne, just to give it a bit more burn. also, leftovers make great post bar drunk food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This was good. I used vegetable broth in place of chicken broth (I'm vegetarian), and it was still really good. I actually sprinkled a little more cumin over the rice as it cooked, as well as cajun-creole spices, to kick up the flavor. Served with spicy adobo sirloin steaks - nice pairing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Very good! I had to use basmati rice as I am out of long grain and also swapped the pepper colour as I didn't have any green ones (used orange instead). My diced tomatoes ended up being romas (fresh) so I threw in a whole chopped jalapeno to make up for the green chilies called for! I know I made some changes, but I don't feel that the ones I changed altered the recipe drastically. Nice side dish, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States