Southwestern Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Loved the flavours and combination of textures in this dish. Next time I think I would add the tomatoes at the same time as the stock, as the dish turned out slightly watery for me. Was a great accompaniment to baked chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
My boyfriend and I made this tonight with the Shredded Chicken Tacos also from this website. We accidentally used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes with green chiles and jalapenos... We also used a 10 oz can of Mexicorn instead of frozen corn, and we doubled the turmeric. It was a bit spicy but really good! I thought it was too spicy at first but then couldn't stop eating it =) ... Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I thought this was just ok. It really lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was super duper yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Quick, healthy, low fat, and YUMMY!! I doubled the cumin & tumeric and added creole seasoning per other suggestions. Used pinto beans as I didn't have black. Will be making often, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knob Noster, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
What great flavor! I didn't have green peppers, but added some monteray jack cheese. Also added a lot more cumin. Cooked with brown rice. Thanks for the great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Very good, I added Cilantro to this, which gave it a nice fresh taste. I made this with "Chile-Garlic Shrimp" from Allrecipes, and tortillas on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
great dish! i made it with spicy garlic lime chicken, and everyone loved it. I put about twice as much cumin and turmeric as it says here, as well as some Cayenne, just to give it a bit more burn. also, leftovers make great post bar drunk food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This was good. I used vegetable broth in place of chicken broth (I'm vegetarian), and it was still really good. I actually sprinkled a little more cumin over the rice as it cooked, as well as cajun-creole spices, to kick up the flavor. Served with spicy adobo sirloin steaks - nice pairing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Very good! I had to use basmati rice as I am out of long grain and also swapped the pepper colour as I didn't have any green ones (used orange instead). My diced tomatoes ended up being romas (fresh) so I threw in a whole chopped jalapeno to make up for the green chilies called for! I know I made some changes, but I don't feel that the ones I changed altered the recipe drastically. Nice side dish, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States