Southwestern Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was a very tasty side dish. I doubled the amount of cumin and turmeric for a bolder flavor and it turned out great! This will become a regular in my dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I have to say my whole family thoroughly enjoyed this dish. The only thing I did different is add more tumeric and cumin and a tad bit of season salt and used fresh tomatos! My husband is still raving about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This is a tasty recipe jam packed with veggies. I added adobo, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and ground black pepper for flavor. I also substituted chicken broth for vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. It can be plated alone or topped off with low fat sour cream and melted shredded cheese. Good simple dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This was a great and quick side dish. Full of flavor and a kick of heat. Only changes I made because I didn't have the other on hand was I used ground mustard instead of turmeric and brown rice instead of long grain rice. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lnicker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
My family loves this. We are from Texas and I cook Mexican food on a regular basis. This has become a regular side dish on those nights. I don't change the recipe at all and it's great. It is good with a can of pinto beans too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I made this for the hubby tonight and it was really good. i doubled the spices per other's reviews and left everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DulceAmor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Made this for a crowd and it was a hit! I also fixed Mom's Chicken by Liza from this website and served the chicken on top of the rice. Rave reviews! I did have to omit the green pepper as I didn't have one but I will make sure I have one for the next time I make this! I also didn't have Turmeric so I substituted Ground Mustard instead. Like other reviewers I used can corn, drained instead of frozen. I think cooking it all in Chicken Broth makes all the difference in flavor. I actually made too much and had plenty left over so I fixed it the next day with cut up smoked sausage in it. A few days later I was at a friends house and she had made Mexi-Can Soup (everything was from a can) and it was very similar to this rice recipe only souper because she used Chicken & Rice Soup. I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for sharing a great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Great recipe! I added a little cilantro and lime juice and this dish was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Great start, really needed more spice and I added sliced black olives before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I halved the recipe & because I had a lot of diced tomatoes I wanted to use up I sauted a chopped jalepeno with the first step. I doubled the spices, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. It turned out excellent & I would happily serve it to friends or order it in a restaurant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States