Southwestern Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Good recipe. Agree with others that it needs a little extra kick, maybe a dash of cayene pepper. Adding the tomatoes while the rice cooks makes it less soupy. Shredded cheese or sour cream make nice additions too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
What a tasty rice dish! Be warned, it makes a pile because of the added veggies. The beans / veggies are a great addition though and are a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I added a bit of shredded cheese, sour cream, and a touch of crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I enjoyed the flavor of this rice. This is a great way to make rice!! Awesome recipe!! I thought it was better than the store brought brands of rice . The only thing different I did was, because I don't care for the veggies, I add a few tablespoons of tomatoe paste in place of diced tomatoes, used dry onions in place of fresh onions and only poured the green chile juice in rice (did not add whole chilies). I also added red pepper flakes instead of green peppers. I still used the frozen corn and black beans like this recipe card suggested. Everything else stayed the same. Other than that I enjoyed this rice. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I also think it definitely needed more flavor. As suggested by reviewers next time I will double the cumin and turmeric, add some cayenne and chili powder and maybe cilantro or lime juice. I also used a can of corn instead of frozen. I didn't use the whole can, thought it was too much. A really good recipe if you tweak it and healthy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leakey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
12/11: i did not add the corn, i drained the beans, i don't have tumeric and used 1 tsp chili powder. and i used brown rice. very hearty. larry and i were the only ones who ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I made it without black beans or tumeric because I didnt have them on hand and I added Goya sazon packet to give it color. Came out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetroitRican

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Made this as a quick side dish when I had nothing else. Had all the ingredients and was easy to make. My family of five all thought it was quite tasty. I would just add a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made this to go with fish tacos. Turned out great. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Prokop

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I didn't have green pepper on hand so I just omitted it from the recipe but it still turned out great! I will be making this as a side dish more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States