Southwestern Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I made the recipe as it's written, except I replaced all the seasoning with a packet of taco seasoning. Made it spicy and very favorful! Excellent! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
SO good! Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This is a delicious and easy recipe. I saw that some reviewers said it was not quite spicy enough, so I added about half a cup of spicy salsa to it for a little zip and thought it was perfect. I took it to a gathering where the dinner was a Tex-Mex theme, and it was just the right side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Made this tonight along with the Mexican Casserole from this site. Rice was really good! Went well with the casserole, but would also make a good side with chicken or other entree, or just as vegetarian dish. I used Vegetable broth in place of chicken broth since my daughter is vegetarian, and subbed in some diced green chilies because all I had were plain diced tomatoes. Also, used canned corn since that is what I had. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Absolutely delicious!!!!! I used all the listed ingredients except doubled the cumin and turmeric, added one more clove of garlic. Drain the tomatoes & chilies( juice too good to waste) and added the juice to the uncooked rice, broth, cumin and turmeric and mixed in a large glass 48 oz measuring cup. Let stand for about 30-45 minutes. Flavors really blended by the rice soaking up the spices. I cooked the frozen corn in micro, drained the corn and while the corn was hot, I mixed the rinsed & drained black beans, tomatoes & chilies together. Not only makes it easier to combine with the cooked rice mixture, you do not have to heat as long. Thanks, Michelle for this recipe!!! sarah & will's grandma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
So good! I double the recipe. I first had the oill, added onions, garlic, green peppers and the rice. Let it cook for a couple of minutes and only then added the spices, a little extra actually and added salt. I believe that made the taste stand out so much more. I used a can of zesty corn medley even though I had frozen corn. It was spicy but tasty. Beautiful colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Delicious! made exactly as recipe asked and would not change a thing! perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TKDCookiemonster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Used all the ingredients, but varied the process. I cooked the rice in the broth, liquid from the Rotel tomatoes, and spices. Sauteed the onion and red and green pepper, stirred in the tomatoes and chile mix and thawed corn. After the rice was finished, combines. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is good to eat and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States