Southwestern Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This salad is absolutely wonderful. I made mine veg friendly by cooking the quinoa in veg broth. I also added avocado which was awesome. The salad kept for days after and got better with time. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Loved this salad! I didn't have adobo, so I made my own (garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, cayenne). I didn't have a tomato on hand, but it was great w/out it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellykulpa
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Very refreshing dish. I used red quinoa. I did not have adobo spice so I added cayenne pepper, garlic powder and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was very yummy, especially with the addition of a chopped jalapeno! Making the Quinoa I substituted olive oil for butter, used water and 1 tsp kosher salt. I needed to make ahead so I used a different technique; cooked quinoa and refrigerated overnight in a separate bowl by itself; then chopped all the vegetables except cilantro, added a chopped jalapeno, used fresh cooked corn off the cobb, mixed in a bowl set aside. Then made a dressing with the lime juice, vinegar, olive oil and adobo seasoning (I made my own seasoning; does not contain salt or MSG); tossed with vegetable mix; tossed in the drained and rinsed beans and marinated mixture over night. The next morning; chopped the cilantro; gently folded with the vegetables; then folded in the quinoa; put back in refridgerator. Just before serving gently folded in the feta cheese and garnished with whole cilantro leaves. Did not use any extra salt; except when cooking quinoa. The cheese is very salty, no need to add extra. The day after my party I added left over cut up grilled chicken to the left over salad. Even my meat and potatoes husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Delicious. Fresh and easy; I just threw in vegetables I had on hand. It was gobbled up in a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Can be served hot or cold Delicious way to make something exotic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Didn't like it at all. It was way too salty. I bought the Goya Adobo All Purpose Seasoning and added 1 tbsp as suggested in the recipe, and it completely ruined the dish. It added no flavor to the dish, just salt. Next time I make a salad like this, I'll just use a little bit of chipotle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was very flavorful, thanks to the adobo. I used olive oil, veg broth, and about half the lime juice. I omitted the feta and it was fine without, though I'd have subbed cotija if I could have found it. I also served it topped with green hot sauce for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Wow! This was even better than I thought it'd be. The only thing I did differently was added some sliced avocado. I couldn't find adobo seasoning, so I looked it up on Allrecipes and sprinkled its ingredients over the top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by addy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
was a big hit, used water instead of chicken broth, chick peas instead of corn, parsley instead of cilantro, also looked up Adobo seasoning and made from scratch. Had no lime or feta cheese - still delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PPratt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States