Southwestern Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
If you use bottled lime juice, cut the amount down to about a third of what is called for (I cut it to a quarter cup and it is still quite sour). Also, use another reviewer's suggestion of cooking the quinoa in half stock/half water - mine got quite salty after cooking in the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Delicious!!! I didn't even have adoba seasoning and it still turned out fantastic...just like the black bean and quinoa salad they make at Whole Foods but better. I used orange pepper instead of green. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Quinoa is actually a seed, when the tail is sprouted instead of cooked out, it can be almost a completely raw salad. But cooked is great too, being that it is a seed and not a grain, most people have no allergic reaction to it and it's gluten free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDIKAYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is so healthy and good! Used hominy instead of corn . Didn't add feta and don't miss it. Will make it again & again.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Williamson Farrell
Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe is amazing and you must try. I also used adobo recipe on site ....always good to know whats in your stuff! Quinoa is a complete amino acid and gluten free food and this recipe really brings out the best in it. I added feta to each serving and some fresh avocado and another squeeze of lime. So refreshing and YUM> It makes a lot. PS I used frozen organic corn as I am a corn snob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Dearolf Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Really enjoyed this salad. I made it with low sodium chicken stock and I used the adobo seasoning recipe from this site. When I made the seasoning I didn't add the salt in that recipe as I like to watch my sodium intake and let others adjust to their liking. I only had white wine vinegar as well so used that but all other instructions were kept. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
made this for a family gathering ... very big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NafKY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
INCREDIBLE! I added grilled chicken and avocado. Loved it! So tasty and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I eat this stuff like it's cake batter while I'm making it...it has such good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Great recipe! I didn't have any feta so I used pepper jack instead. Tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States