Southwestern Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This has become one of my go to recipes that we eat frequently. It is so delicious and anyone I've ever made it for loves it, even my kids. I don't put the corn, salt/pepper or the adobo seasoning in it and it still tastes amazing. I served it as a side dish with ham and green beans for Christmas for a healthy twist and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This calls for too much dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Yum! I just had this for lunch and it was excellent. I followed the recipe except left out the butter to reduce fat and left out the corn because I was out of it and didn't want to run to the store. I have saved this recipe and will be making it again. Thank you Texas7127 for sharing your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This wonderful recipe has been a hit absolutely everywhere I've served it. I even introduced my family in Texas to quinoa using this recipe... they'd never heard of it before this! Served hot or cold it's been enjoyed by every adult who's tasted it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Only 4 stars because I used this as a jumping off point. I had a box of Near East Quinoa blend roasted red pepper & basil that I wanted to use up and this inspired me. Didn't use as much oil in the dressing or the broth/butter in prep of quinoa and used mozzarella cheese in place of the feta. Also made own adobo seasoning. Ate as a side dish scooped with tortilla chips. I loved it and so did my husband. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I just tried Quinoa this week for the 1st time at a restaurant...enjoyed it so much that I thought I should find some recipes to try at home...This was the first one I found and I made it today....I "forgot" to make the quinoa in the chicken broth and it still came out DELICIOUS!! I wouldn't change anything else about the recipe. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Made this for a work potluck and it went over very well. I love this dish. Fresh tasting and yummy. I added a jalapeno, used veggie broth for so it was truely meatless and used Ricotta Salada cheese in lieu of Feta. Whole Foods carry this cheese and it was very good. Highly Recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaceDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rydal, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
A great salad! I made some changes. First, as a vegetarian, I substituted the chicken broth with vegetable broth instead. I also added 1/2 cup sweet red bell pepper (diced). I cut the lime juice down to 1/4 cup. Whenever possible, I use heirloom tomatoes (my favorites so far have been hillbilly and cherokee purple). Sometimes I use red quinoa or rainbow quinoa for visual effect. I often stuff it in pita bread for a filling on-the-go lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delta, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
So fresh and flavorful! Made this for a church picnic and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I loved this- with some changes....I added a dash of balsamic vinegar and garlic powder to the quinoa as it cooked. I used a red pepper, orange pepper, red onion as my veggies. I used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar and omitted the olive oil. I combined all of the ingredients (except feta cheese) with the balsamic vinegar/lime juice and let it sit overnight. Just before I served the salad I added the feta cheese and two ripe avocados (I chose to leave out the cilantro). Added the juice of one more lime, another dash of balsamic and it was good to go. It was excellent! I think letting the salad sit for awhile (overnight) is important for the flavor. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States